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TAXPAYER REMEDIES FOR NATIVE AMERCIAN  
VETERANS INCOME TAX SETTLEMENT FUND 

 

 

 

Native American veterans domiciled on tribal lands during their periods of active military service 

may have been exempt from paying state personal income taxes on their military income, but 

may have had state personal income taxes withheld from their military income. Such veterans 

or their successors may claim settlement payments from the Native American Veterans Income 

Tax Settlement Fund (Section 7-2H-1 NMSA 1978). This publication describes the procedures 

for protesting the denial of a claim for a settlement payment.  

 

Please note that if you fail to follow the formal remedies outlined below in the time and manner the 

law requires, you lose the right to use the remedies to address the dispute. 
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Denial of a Claim 
 

Claims for settlement payments are first reviewed by the New Mexico Department of Veterans 

Services (DVS). DVS may reject an application for a settlement fund claim if the claimant does not 

provide satisfactory evidence of his or her active duty in the armed forces of the United States, 

status as a Native American and domicile on tribal land during a period of active duty. A claimant 

whose application is denied by DVS may dispute the denial by contacting the Secretary of DVS.  

 

If DVS accepts an application, that agency forwards the application to the Taxation and Revenue 

Department (“Department”) for review of the claimant’s withholding tax records. The claimant can 

substantiate the withholding tax amount by providing copies of Form W-2 covering active duty 

military pay for the year(s) during which New Mexico personal income tax was withheld. If a 

claimant does not have copies of the applicable Form(s) W-2 for one or more of these years, the 

claimant can request the Department to obtain the claimant’s or deceased veteran’s Form(s) W-2, 

or other withholding information in a form approved by the Department, from the United States 

Department of Defense. The claimant must also provide a signed statement attesting that the 

claimant of a deceased veteran did not receive a refund of the New Mexico personal income tax 

withheld for the year(s) for which the claimant is filing a claim for a settlement payment. A claim 

will be denied if the claimant’s withholding tax information cannot be sufficiently documented or 

verified. The Department must act on a claim within 210 days of the date that it receives the 

claim from DVS. Claims not acted upon by the Department within 210 days are deemed denied.  

 

More information can be found for the Department of Veterans Service at www.dvs.state.nm.us 

or they can be contacted at 505-383-2400 or toll free at 1-866-433-8387.  

 

Filing a Protest 
 

A claimant whose claim is denied in whole or in part by the Department may dispute the denial 

by filing a written protest of the denial. 

 

The claimant’s protest must contain the name and address of the claimant and must clearly 

specify the grounds for the protest. All evidence in support of the protest also must be 

submitted with the written protest. The designated hearing officer cannot consider any evidence 

that has not been submitted to the agency at least 10 days prior to the hearing. 

 

The claimant must file a written protest within 30 days of the date on which the Department 

mailed notification of the denial of the claim. A protest should be mailed to:  

 

New Mexico Taxation and Revenue Department  

Protest Office  

P.O. Box 1671  

Santa Fe, NM 87504-1671  

 

Private carriers should deliver protests to: 

 

1100 S. St. Francis Drive, Suite 1100 

Santa Fe, NM 87505  

 

A claimant may call the Protest Office at (505) 827-9806. 

                    

Upon timely receipt of a protest, the agency must promptly set a date for hearing and on that 

date hear the protest. The hearing must be scheduled no later than 90 days after the filing of 

http://www.dvs.state.nm.us/
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the written protest. The agency must mail a notice of the hearing to the protestant no less than 

15 days prior to the date of the hearing. The Secretary of the Department may designate a 

hearing officer to conduct the hearing. The claimants may appear at a hearing on their own 

behalf, have the assistance of an advocate or be represented by an attorney. Hearings are not 

open to the public except upon request of the claimant and may be postponed or continued at 

the discretion of the secretary or hearing officer. 

                     

The technical rules of evidence and the rules of civil procedure do not apply in the hearings, but 

hearings must be conducted so that claims are amply and fairly presented. The claimant has 

the burden of proving that the denial of the claim was improper. 

                     

A complete record of the proceedings will be made, and a written decision must be issued 

within 30 days of the hearing.  

 

For further assistance, please call the personal income tax unit at (505) 827-0827 or              

fax 827-2526 

 

NOTE: The Department’s approvals of refund claim for this purpose are subject to the balance 

available in the Native American Veterans’ Income Tax Settlement Fund. 
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TAXPAYER INFORMATION 
 

The Department offers a variety of taxpayer information. Some information is free and other 

information must be purchased. 

 

General Information.  FYIs and Bulletins present general information with a minimum of technical 

language. All FYIs and Bulletins are free and available through all local tax offices, the Tax 

Information and Policy Office, and on the Internet. The Taxation and Revenue Department’s Internet 

address is: 

http://www.tax.newmexico.gov  
 

Regulations. The Department establishes regulations to interpret and exemplify the various tax acts 

it administers. The Taxation and Revenue Department regulation book is available from the New 

Mexico Compilation Commission on a prepaid basis. The Compilation Commission also has a 

compact disk of all statutes and regulations. Specific regulations are also available at the State 

Records Center or on its web page at www.nmcpr.state.nm.us/nmac. 

 

Order regulation books directly from: 

 

New Mexico Compilation Commission 

http://www.nmcompcomm.us/index.html 

 

Rulings. Rulings signed by the Secretary and approved by the Attorney General are written 

statements that apply to one or a small number of taxpayers. A taxpayer may request a ruling (at no 

charge) to clarify its tax liability or responsibility under specific circumstances. The request for a 

ruling must be in writing, include accurate taxpayer identification and the details about the taxpayer’s 

situation, and be addressed to the Secretary of the Taxation and Revenue Department at P.O. Box 

630, Santa Fe, NM 87504-0630. The taxpayer’s representative, such as an accountant or attorney, 

may request a ruling on behalf of the taxpayer but must disclose the name of the taxpayer. While the 

Department is not required to issue a ruling when requested to do so, every request is carefully 

considered.  

 

The Department will not issue a ruling to a taxpayer who is undergoing an audit, who has an 

outstanding assessment, or who is involved in a protest or litigation with the Department over the 

subject matter of the request. The Secretary may modify or withdraw any previously issued ruling 

and is required to withdraw or modify any ruling when subsequent legislation, regulations, final court 

decisions or other rulings invalidate a ruling or portions of a ruling. Taxation and Revenue 

Department rulings are compiled and available on the Department’s web page free of charge at 

http://www.tax.newmexico.gov/rulings.aspx. 

 

Public Decisions & Orders.  All public decisions and orders issued since July 1994 are compiled 

and available on the Department’s web page free of charge at http://www.tax.newmexico.gov/tax-

decisions-orders.aspx.  

http://www.tax.newmexico.gov/
http://www.nmcpr.state.nm.us/nmac
http://www.nmcompcomm.us/index.html
http://www.tax.newmexico.gov/rulings.aspx
http://www.tax.newmexico.gov/tax-decisions-orders.aspx
http://www.tax.newmexico.gov/tax-decisions-orders.aspx
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FOR FURTHER ASSISTANCE 
 

Local tax offices can provide full service and information about the Department's taxes, programs, 

and forms as well as specific information about your filing situation.  

 

 
 

ALBUQUERQUE   

Taxation and Revenue Department 

5301 Central NE 

P.O. Box 8485 

Albuquerque, NM 87198-8485 

 

SANTA FE     

Taxation and Revenue Department 

Manuel Lujan Sr. Bldg. 

1200 S. St. Francis Dr. 

P.O. Box 5374 

Santa Fe, NM 87502-5374 

 

FARMINGTON    

Taxation and Revenue Department 

3501 E. Main St., Suite N 

P.O. Box 479 

Farmington, NM 87499-0479 

 

LAS CRUCES    

Taxation and Revenue Department 

2540 S. El Paseo Bldg. #2 

P.O. Box 607 

Las Cruces, NM 88004-0607 

 

ROSWELL     

Taxation and Revenue Department 

400 Pennsylvania Ave., Suite 200 

P.O. Box 1557 

Roswell, NM 88202-1557 

 

 

  

 

Call Center: 1-866-285-2996 

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This publication provides general information. It does not constitute a regulation, ruling, or decision issued by the Secretary of the New 

Mexico Taxation and Revenue Department. The Department is legally bound only by a regulation or a ruling [7-1-60, New Mexico Statutes 

Annotated, 1978]. In the event of a conflict between FYI and statute, regulation, case law or policy, the information in FYIs is overridden by 

statutes, regulations and case law. Taxpayers and preparers are responsible for being aware of New Mexico tax laws and rules. Consult 

the Department directly if you have questions or concerns about information provided in this FYI. 

 


