

Michelle Lujan Grisham Governor

Stephanie Schardin Clarke Cabinet Secretary

Media Contact: Charlie Moore Charlie.Moore@state.nm.us (505) 827-0690

June 1, 2020

MVD offices are open by appointment only

The New Mexico Motor Vehicle Division is reminding customers that its field offices are open by appointment only.

Most field offices resumed operations on Monday and several were met with lines of potential customers without appointments. Due to the COVID-19 public health emergency, operations remain restricted in order to meet social distancing guidelines and protect the health of customers and staff.

Appointments are available only to customers with transactions that cannot be conducted online.

Some locations are accommodating walk-up visits but only during designated hours for customers who are at least 79 years old. Other customers without appointments cannot be served at this time.

Appointments can be made at mvdonline.com or by calling 888-683-4636 (888-MVD-INFO). Several offices already are booked through July and are not accepting further appointments at this time.

Staff are employing COVID-safe practices at all field offices, and customers are expected to adhere to them, as well.

Staff and customers will be screened for symptoms and will have their temperatures taken before being admitted to field offices. Face coverings will be required in compliance with the state Public Health Order.

Because of the continued spread of COVID-19 in McKinley, San Juan and Dona Ana Counties, MVD offices remain closed in those counties.

New Mexicans throughout the state are strongly encouraged to continue using MVD's online services at https://eservices.mvd.newmexico.gov/eTapestry/_/ to renew driver's

licenses and vehicle registrations and take care of many other transactions from the safety of their homes.

Examples of transactions that cannot be completed online include license renewals for people 79 years of age and older, first-time Real ID licenses, first-time New Mexico licenses of any kind, title transfers, and VIN inspections.

MVD offices closed March 26 because of the public health threat posed by the COVID-19 pandemic.

On March 30, Governor Lujan Grisham issued an Executive Order temporarily waiving MVD fees and penalties for expired registrations and licenses and directing State Police not to issue citations to New Mexicans whose documents expired during the pandemic.

On April 28, MVD announced it had automatically prepared over 32,000 90-day temporary licenses for people whose license had expired during the pandemic.

Temporary licenses were emailed to anyone for whom MVD had an email address and are available to others at mvdonline.com by choosing "Online Services," then "Eservices," then "Drivers & Placards." MVD plans to continue issuing automatic 90-day temporary licenses.