

Michelle Lujan Grisham Governor

Stephanie Schardin Clarke Cabinet Secretary

Media Contact: Charlie Moore Charlie.Moore@tax.nm.gov (505) 670-5406

June 16, 2023

MVD will no longer suspend licenses for failure to pay, appear New law takes effect today

SANTA FE – The New Mexico Motor Vehicle Division starting today will no longer suspend the licenses of drivers solely for failing to appear in court or failing to pay fines and fees associated with traffic citations.

The changes are the result of legislation signed into law this year by Gov. Michelle Lujan Grisham. The new law takes effect today.

For drivers with previous suspensions, MVD must restore driving privileges for drivers whose licenses were suspended solely for failure to appear in court or failure to pay a fine by Sept. 1, 2023. The Division expects to be able to lift those suspensions much sooner. There is no reinstatement fee for suspensions being lifted under the new law.

The underlying citations and any fines associated with them will remain on drivers' records and they may still need to comply with court orders related to their cases.

Drivers who allowed their licenses to expire while under suspension will need to obtain and pay for new licenses. And if their licenses have been expired for five years or more, they will need to go through the testing process, as well.

The law does not apply to commercial driver's licenses nor to licenses that have been suspended for other reasons, such as accumulating too many infraction points, for being habitually reckless or negligent and for other reasons under state law. Those drivers may still be required to pay a reinstatement fee to restore their driving privileges.

Other motor vehicle legislation becoming law today includes:

HB 267, which removes the health standards advisory board from statute. The
obsolete board had reviewed reports from doctors related to medical and
vision restrictions for licenses. Under the new law, MVD agents will be able to
accept the findings of physicians and issue credentials based on those
findings.

- The change will allow quicker processing of credentials for drivers 79 and older and other drivers required to submit vision or medical reports.
- HB 389, which allows homeless individuals to obtain a New Mexico identification card from MVD without paying a fee.
- HB 366, which allows disabled veterans to receive more than two disabled veteran license plates. Disabled veterans will continue to receive up to two plates free of charge. Any additional plates will incur standard license plate and registration fees.

Motor vehicle legislation becoming law on July 1 includes:

- SB 396, which increases the annual motorcycle registration fee from \$15 to \$20.
- HB 62, which prohibits the sale of a motor vehicle by a person who is not the owner of the vehicle or a registered dealer. It also prohibits "off-site" vehicle sales by licensed dealers.
- HB 360, HB 141 and HB 287, which create new specialty license plates supporting the Future Farmers of America (FFA), recognizing the family and friends of law enforcement officers killed in the line of duty, advocating driver safety awareness and supporting New Mexico miners.

###

The Motor Vehicle Division strives to offer customers convenient channels to conduct their business. MVD regularly adds to services offered online and through convenient retail kiosks.

Connect with us on LinkedIn, YouTube and Twitter @NM MVD