

Michelle Lujan Grisham Governor

Stephanie Schardin Clarke Cabinet Secretary

Media Contact: Charlie Moore <u>Charlie.Moore@state.nm.us</u> (505) 670-5406

March 23, 2021

## Department begins issuing special \$600 rebates

The New Mexico Taxation and Revenue Department has begun issuing \$600 rebates for certain eligible recipients of the Working Families Tax Credit. The rebates were authorized by the Legislature earlier this year and signed into law by Gov. Michelle Lujan Grisham.

The one-time rebates are available to taxpayers who are not dependents, who receive the Working Families Tax Credit, and who have an adjusted gross income of \$31,200 or less (single filers) or \$39,000 (married filing jointly, heads of household).

Taxpayers who have already filed their 2020 New Mexico Personal Income Tax returns and are eligible for the \$600 rebate do not need to take further action. The \$600 rebate will be mailed to them or delivered by direct deposit if they selected that option when they filed their 2020 tax return.

More than 110,000 rebates worth more than \$66 million have been issued so far.

"Taxation and Revenue Department employees have worked hard to get this muchneeded tax relief out to families as quickly as possible. This is an important step in helping New Mexico recover," said Taxation and Revenue Department Secretary Stephanie Schardin Clarke.

Those who have not yet filed their 2020 tax return and believe they are eligible for the Working Families Tax Credit and the new income tax rebate should file their 2020 Personal Income Tax returns as soon as possible. The Department urges all taxpayers to file electronically and to use direct deposit, which expedites processing and puts refunds and rebates into taxpayers' hands more quickly. Taxpayers who elect to receive a paper check should ensure that their returns have the correct address to prevent delays.

The Department issued the first ACH payments and mailed the first paper checks on March 23, although it may take one to three days for the funds to post in the taxpayer's account or arrive by mail.

Taxpayers who have already filed their 2020 Personal Income Tax returns without claiming the Working Families Tax Credit but who believe they may qualify will need to file an amended return. More information on filing an amended return is available at tax.newmexico.gov by opening the "Individuals" menu and selecting "Correcting a return."

This year, New Mexico's Working Families Credit is worth 17% of the federal Earned Income Tax Credit. Qualifications for the state credit are the same as for the federal credit. More information on eligibility is available at IRS.gov.

The value of the federal and state credits combined, which is based on earned income and family size, can be worth as much as \$7,792. The \$600 rebates authorized in Senate Bill 1 are in addition to the credit amounts for eligible taxpayers.

People may qualify for the credit, rebate and a refund even if they do not have any tax liability. About 200,000 New Mexicans claimed the Working Families credit in 2019. Applicants and their children must have valid social security numbers, and taxpayers cannot claim the credit if their filing status is *married filing separately*. More information on income and other requirements and qualifications for the credits can be found at IRS.gov.

Tax preparation help for low-income New Mexicans is available through the AARP and Tax Help New Mexico, along with some senior citizen centers and social service agencies. More information is available from the AARP and at TaxHelpNM.org.