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AFFIDAVIT OF DOMESTIC PARTNERSHIP 

 
As required by Executive Order 2003-010, this affidavit must be used to apply for domestic partner benefits and 
must be filed with TRD’s Human Resources Bureau (HRB). 
 

DECLARATION OF DOMESTIC PARTNERSHIP 
 

I,  , declare that I am in a domestic partnership with 
 Print State Employee’s Name   

  . Further, we declare that: 
 Print Domestic Partner’s Name   

 
1. We are in an exclusive and committed relationship for the benefit of each other, and our relationship is the same as, or 

similar to, a marriage relationship in the State of New Mexico. 
2. We share and have shared together for 12 or more consecutive months a common, primary residence. 
3. We are jointly responsible for each other’s common welfare and we share financial obligations. 
4. Neither of us is married or a member of another domestic partnership; nor have either of us been so during 

the past 12 months. 
5. We are both at least 18 years of age. 
6. We are both legally competent to sign this Affidavit of Domestic Partnership. 
7. We are not related by blood to a degree of closeness that would prevent us from being married to each other 

in the State of New Mexico. 
 

BENEFITS FOR THE ELIGIBLE DEPENDENTS CHILDREN OF THE DOMESTIC PARTNER 
 
Domestic partner benefits are also available to the domestic partner’s children, provided, however, that the child is primarily 
dependent upon the employee or domestic partner for support and is an eligible dependent child because: 
1. Either of the domestic partners is the biological parent of the child; 
2. Either or both partners are adoptive parents of the child; or 
3. The child has been placed in the Domestic Partners’ household as part of an adoptive placement, legal 

guardianship, or by court order (excludes foster children). 
 

We declare that the following named individual(s) is/are eligible dependent child(ren): 

 
(For each Eligible Dependent Child, list the child’s name and describe the relationship to the Domestic Partner) 

 

 
 
EXCLUSIONS 

 
Except for the eligible individuals named in Section B above, the following persons are not covered by Domestic Partner 
benefits and are not considered eligible dependents: parents, foster children, mere roommates, and other relatives who are 
related to the state employee to such a degree of closeness that marriage would be prohibited in the State of New Mexico. 
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ACKNOWLEDGMENTS 
 
By signing this Affidavit of Domestic Partnership, we agree to notify the human resources office at the state employee’s job in writing 
within 31 days (a) of any change in our status as domestic partners when any of the items in the Declaration of Domestic Partnership 
(paragraph, A above) no longer apply, (b) because we wish to terminate our domestic partnership (termination notice must be done 
using the Risk Management Division form “Affidavit of Termination of Domestic Partnership”), or (c) in the event a dependent ceases 
to meet the eligibility requirements for benefit coverage. 

We understand that the value of insurance benefits provided to the domestic partner is considered by the federal Internal Revenue 
Service as taxable income to the employee, that the value thereof is subject to social security and federal income tax withholding, and 
that current state tax laws require state income tax withholding as well. 

We understand that the State of New Mexico will pay its portion of the premium on the domestic partner’s and dependent benefits, if 
any, in the same proportion as is paid for similar benefit premium portions paid for spouses and dependents of married persons covered 
by the state employee’s benefits program, and that the state employee is required to pay their portion of the premium on the domestic 
partner’s and dependent benefits, if any, in the same proportion as is required for similar benefit premium portions that married state 
employees pay for spouses and dependents. 

We acknowledge that we are hereby advised to seek competent legal advice about present and future financial obligations we may be 
undertaking before we sign this Affidavit of Domestic Partnership. 

We understand that at any time we may be requested in writing by the Risk Management Division Director to provide reasonable 
written proof that we are jointly responsible for the common welfare of each other, that we share financial obligations, and/or to show 
that the named dependents, if any, are eligible for benefits coverage, and that if we fail to provide such requested proof, then the 
domestic partner or dependent benefits can be denied or terminated. 

We understand that any misrepresentation of fact made in this affidavit of domestic partnership may result in loss of benefits 
and/or disciplinary action, and that as a result of such misrepresentation the state employee may be required to reimburse the 
state of New Mexico for any cost for providing benefit coverage or for providing the actual benefits, such costs including, among 
other things, attorney’s fees. 

NOTARIZATION 
 
We affirm, under penalty of perjury, that the assertions in this Affidavit of Domestic Partnership are true 
and correct. (Both partners must sign this legal document in the presence of a Notary Public.) 
 

 
(Signature of State Employee) (Print State Employee’s Name) 
 
(Signature of Domestic Partner) (Print Domestic Partner’s Name) 
 
(Common Residence Address) City State Zip Code 

 
(Mailing Address) City State Zip Code 

 

STATE OF NEW MEXICO  ) 
   ) ss. 
COUNTY OF               ) 
                                      (County Name) 
 

SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN to this  day of  20  , by 
 

  , an employee of the State of New Mexico, and 
(Print State Employee’s Name) 

  , the State Employee’s Domestic Partner. 
(Print Domestic Partner’s Name) 
 

My Commission Expires:      
Notary Public 
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