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FYI-370  
FOR YOUR INFORMATION 
Tax Information/Policy Office     ♦      P.O. Box 630      ♦      Santa Fe, New Mexico        87504-0630   

   
 

INFORMATION REGARDING FILM PRODUCTION TAX CREDITS 
 
This publication is an overview of the credits allowed in the Film Production Tax Credit Act. It briefly 
covers the credit that is available on or after July 1, 2019. The remainder of this publication covers the 
changes for productions beginning July 1, 2023, based on HB-547 from the 2023 Legislative Session. 
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New Film Production Tax Credit on or after  
July 1, 2019, but prior to July 1, 2023 

 
♦ Statutory Reference: Film Production Tax Credit Act, Sections 7-2F-1.1 through 7-2F-5, and 

Sections 7-2F-12 through 7-2F-15 NMSA 1978. 
♦ Applicable Tax Programs: CIT and PIT 
♦ Refundable 
♦ TRD Forms:  

 RPD-41391, Application for New Film Production Tax Credit (Productions starting July 1, 2019) 
 RPD-41271, Film Production Tax Credit Declaration of Residency 
 RPD-41380, Notice of Assignment of Film Production Tax Credit 
 RPD-41228, Film-Related Tax Credit Claim Form 

 
For film production companies that commence principal photography on or after July 1, 2019, a credit 
against personal or corporate income tax is available for 25% of direct production and postproduction 
expenditures made in New Mexico that are subject to taxation by the state of New Mexico and directly 
attributable to the production of a film or commercial audiovisual product. The credit covers postproduction 
expenditures directly attributable only to services performed in New Mexico and subject to taxation by the 
state of New Mexico. Excluded from the credit are costs for which the film production company has already 
delivered nontaxable transaction certificates under Section 7-9-86 NMSA 1978 and expenditures for which 
another taxpayer claims the film and television tax credit. 
 

• An additional 5% shall be applied for payments for direct production expenditures and 
postproduction expenditures. For work, services or items provided on location for production of a 
film or commercial audiovisual product that is in New Mexico but at least 60 miles outside of the 
exterior boundaries of certain counties. Section 7-2F-14(A)(1) NMSA 1978 (Laws 2019, Ch.87, § 
8). 

• An additional 5% credit is available for standalone pilots intended for series television in New 
Mexico and series television productions intended for commercial distribution with an order for at 
least six episodes in a single season, provided that the New Mexico budget for each episode is at 
least $50,000. Section 7-2F-14(A)(2)(a) NMSA 1978 (Laws 2019, Ch.87, § 8). 

• An additional 5% credit is available if certain criteria are met regarding the use of qualified 
production facilities. Section 7-2F-14(A)(2)(b) NMSA 1978 (Laws 2019, Ch.87, § 8). 

• A credit is available in an amount equal to 15% of the payment of wages for nonresident industry 
crew when certain criteria are met under Section 7-2F-15 NMSA 1978 (Laws 2019, Ch.87, § 9). 

 
The aggregate total amount of credits authorized for payment under the Film Production Tax Credit Act in 
any fiscal year is limited to $110 million. 
 
Note: The NMFO of the EDD approves film production companies for eligibility. TRD determines whether 
the film production company’s expenses are eligible. For additional qualifying information, please look at 
TRD’s application and claim form listed above. 
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New Film Production Tax Credit on or after July 1, 2023 

 
♦ Statutory Reference: Film Production Tax Credit Act, Section 7-2F-1.1 through 7-2F-15 (Laws 

2023), excluding Section 7-2F-2.1 and 7-2F-6 through 7-2F-11 NMSA 1978. 
♦ Applicable Tax Programs: CIT and PIT 
♦ Refundable 
♦ TRD Forms:  

 RPD-41418, Application for New Film Production Tax Credit (Productions starting July 1, 2023) 
 RPD-41271, Film Production Tax Credit Declaration of Residency 
 RPD-41380, Notice of Assignment of Film Production Tax Credit 
 RPD-41228, Film-Related Tax Credit Claim Form 

 
For film production companies that commence principal photography on or after July 1, 2023, a credit 
against personal or corporate income tax is available for 25% of direct production and postproduction 
expenditures made in New Mexico that are subject to taxation by the state of New Mexico and directly 
attributable to the production of a film or commercial audiovisual product. The credit covers postproduction 
expenditures directly attributable only to services performed in New Mexico and subject to taxation by the 
state of New Mexico. Excluded from the credit are expenditures for which another taxpayer claims the film 
and television tax credit. 
 

• Rural Uplift - An additional 10% shall be applied for payments for direct production expenditures 
and postproduction expenditures for work, services or items provided on location for production of 
a film or commercial audiovisual product that is in New Mexico but at least 60 miles from the city 
hall of the county seat of certain counties. Section 7-2F-14(A)(1) NMSA 1978. Certain counties 
means Class A counties with a net taxable value of property for property taxation purposes of 
greater than $7,500,000,000. More Information on the next page. 

• An additional 5% credit is available for either of the following: 
o TV Pilot and Series Uplift- for standalone pilots intended for series television in New Mexico 

and series television productions intended for commercial distribution with an order for at 
least six episodes in a single season, provided that the New Mexico budget for each 
episode is at least $50,000 Section 7-2F-14(A)(2)(a) NMSA 1978; OR 

o Qualified Production Facilities Uplift- if certain criteria are met regarding the use of qualified 
production facilities. Section 7-2F-14(A)(2)(b) NMSA 1978. 

• A non-resident below-the-line crew credit is available in an amount equal to 15% of the payment of 
wages for below-the-line nonresident industry crew when certain criteria are met under Section 7-
2F-15 NMSA 1978. 

 
The aggregate total amount of credits authorized for payment under the Film Production Tax Credit Act in 
any fiscal year is limited to $110 million. Section 7-2F-12 NMSA 1978 allows for the credit limit to be 
increased as follows: from fiscal year 2024 through fiscal year 2028, the amount shall be increased by ten 
million dollars ($10,000,000) in each of those fiscal years; and for fiscal year 2029 and subsequent fiscal 
years, one hundred sixty million dollars ($160,000,000). 
 
Note: The NMFO of the EDD approves film production companies for eligibility. TRD determines whether 
the film production company’s expenses are eligible. For additional qualifying information, please look at 
TRD’s application and claim form listed above. 
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Additional 10% Credit- Certain Areas of the State (Rural) 
In addition to the 25% credit for direct production expenditures and postproduction expenditures allowed 
under Section 7-2F-12 NMSA 1978, an additional 10% shall be applied for work, services or items provided 
on location for a production that is located in New Mexico but at least 60 miles from the city hall of the 
county seat of certain counties. Section 7-2F-14(A)(1) NMSA 1978. “Certain counties” means Class A 
counties with a net taxable value of property for property taxation purposes of greater than $7,500,000,000. 
This additional credit percentage only applies to productions with principal photography beginning on or 
after July 1, 2023. 
 
All direct production expenditures and postproduction expenditures will get the additional 10% uplift for 
expenditures incurred in a rural area. 

• Goods and Services must be provided on location in the rural area to qualify for the additional 10%.  
• Rentals leased or licensed outside the rural areas will be prorated by number of days used in the 

rural area. 
• Excludes Non-resident Below the Line Crew. 
• Rural Map- https://nmtrd.maps.arcgis.com/home/index.html  

 
Additional 5% Credit- Qualified Television Pilots and Series OR Qualified 
Production Facilities 

• In addition to the 25% credit for direct production expenditure and postproduction expenditure 
allowed under Section 7-2F-12 NMSA 1978, an additional 5% shall be applied to productions that 
are a standalone pilot intended for series television in New Mexico or on series television 
productions intended for commercial distribution with an order for at least six episodes in a single 
season; provided that the New Mexico budget for each of those six episodes is fifty thousand dollars 
($50,000) or more. Section 7-2F-14(A)(2)(a) NMSA 1978. 

o If the additional 5% credit is granted for television pilots and series, an additional 5% credit 
cannot be allowed for use of a qualified production facility.  
 

• In addition to the 25% credit for direct production expenditures and postproduction expenditures 
allowed under Section 7-2F-12 NMSA 1978, an additional 5% shall be applied to productions that 
utilize a production facility sound stage or standing set, qualified by NMFO. Section 7-2F-
14(A)(2)(b) NMSA 1978 

o Only expenses incurred on a production in a qualified production facility are eligible for 
the additional 5%. If an item is purchased at a store or another location and brought 
back to the qualified production facility, it would not qualify. 

o If the additional 5% credit is granted for a qualified production facility, an additional 5% 
credit cannot be allowed for television pilots and series.  

 
Non-Resident Below the Line Crew Credit (NRCE) 
Section 7-2F-15 NMSA 1978 allows for an amount equal to 15% of the payment of wages for below-
the-line (BTL) crew who are not New Mexico residents, that are directly attributable to the 
production in New Mexico of a film or commercial audiovisual product for which the film production 
company is claiming a new film production tax credit; provided that:  

 the service for which payment is made is rendered in New Mexico;  
 the payment of wages excludes payments: (1) for below-the-line crew who are 

producers, directors, screenwriters, cast and production assistants; and (2) made to a 
personal services business;  

 prior to July 1, 2028, for a film production company that is a New Mexico film partner 
only, the total amount of wages applied toward the additional credit allowed pursuant 
to this section may be up to one hundred percent of the amount of wages of resident 
below-the-line wages claimed; provided that the film production company provides a 
seventy-two-hour notice of the opportunity to be hired to resident below-the-line crew, 
which may be through a collective bargaining unit that represents resident below-the-
line crew per Section 7-2F-15(C) NMSA 1978  

https://nmtrd.maps.arcgis.com/home/index.html
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 NOTE: Starting July 1, 2028, this special allowance is no longer allowed and a 
production company that is a New Mexico film Partner would be able to claim the credit 
under Section 7-2F-15(D) NMSA 1978), as set out immediately below. 
 

 Starting July 1, 2023, a film production company that is not a New Mexico film 
partner, and starting July 1, 2028, a film production company that is a New 
Mexico film partner, may be able to apply for: 

 (1) the total eligible wages for below-the-line crew who are not New Mexico residents are 
not more than fifteen percent of the production's total New Mexico budget for below-the-
line crew wages and 

 (2) the film production company may claim the nonresident below-the-line crew credit for 
employing up to the following numbers of nonresident below-the-line crew in New Mexico 
and shall be as calculated by the division upon application for certification pursuant to 
Subsection A of Section 7-2F-12 NMSA 1978; provided that the total number shall not 
exceed twenty positions:  
• (a) five positions if the production's final New Mexico budget is up to two million 

seven hundred fifty thousand dollars ($2,750,000);  
• (b) ten positions if the production's final New Mexico budget is greater than two 

million seven hundred fifty thousand dollars ($2,750,000) and up to seven million 
five hundred thousand dollars ($7,500,000);  

• (c) fifteen positions if the production's final New Mexico budget is greater than seven 
million five hundred thousand dollars ($7,500,000) and up to eleven million dollars 
($11,000,000); 

• (d) one position in addition to the number of positions provided in Subparagraph (c) 
of this paragraph for every ten million dollars ($10,000,000) over eleven million 
dollars ($11,000,000) of the production's final New Mexico budget; and  

• (e) five positions in addition to the number of positions provided in Subparagraphs 
(a) through (d) of this paragraph for a television pilot episode that has been ordered 
to series; provided that the film production company certifies to the division that the 
series is intended to be produced in New Mexico. 
 

NOTE: Production companies that are New Mexico film partners can use the special allowance under 
Section 7-2F-15(C) NMSA 1978 prior to July 1, 2028. After July 1, 2028, production companies that are 
New Mexico film partners can use the special allowance under Section 7-2F-15(D) NMSA 1978. 
Production companies that are not New Mexico film partners can only use the special allowance under 
Section 7-2F-15(D) NMSA 1978. 

 
Example Credit Amount with a $1,000,000.00 Total New Mexico BTL Crew Budget: 
 

 

Total NM 
BTL Budget 

 Budget %    BTL Crew 
Wages  

(credit 15%) 
 Credit Max 

15% Credit up to $22,500  $ 1,000,000  
 

X  15%  X  15% =  $ 22,500  
 
Per Section 7-2F-2 (C) NMSA 1978, "below-the-line crew" means a person in a position that is off 
camera and who provides technical services during the physical production of a film. "Below-the-
line crew" does not include a person who is a writer, director, producer, or background artist or 
performing artist for the film; 
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Description 
Is it a 

Qualified 
Expenditure? 

Requirements 

Non-Resident Below the Line 
Crew (NRCE) Services must be rendered in New Mexico. 

Wages  Yes Per Section 7-2F-15 NMSA 1978, 15% of the total New Mexico 
production budget for BTL crew wages. Services must be rendered in 
New Mexico. See Nonresident Below the line Crew section above. 

Benefits  No Per Section 7-2F-15 NMSA 1978  

Workers' 
Compensation  

Yes Per Section 7-2F-2 (E)(1)(e) (10) NMSA 1978, the policy must be 
purchased by a NM based agent or broker.  Services must be rendered 
in NM. 

Per Diem No Per Section 7-2F-15 NMSA 1978 

Handling Fees  Yes Per Section7-2F-2(S) NMSA 1978, the payroll company must have 
physical presence in NM and payroll must be processed at NM 
location. Fee including gross receipts tax.   

Fringes No Per Section 7-2F-15 NMSA 1978 

 
Non-Resident Crew Section 7-2F-2(E)(2)(g) NMSA 1978: 
Wages for a person who is not a New Mexico resident and who falsely claims to be a New Mexico 
resident.  The wages of such a person shall not be considered an eligible expense for two years from the 
date in which the person is determined by the Department as having made a false claim, regardless of 
whether the person becomes a New Mexico resident within that time frame. 
 

Description 
Is it a 

Qualified 
Expenditure? 

Requirements 

Non-Resident Crew Services must be rendered in New Mexico. 
Workers' 
Compensation  

Yes Per Section 7-2F-2(E)(1)(e)(10) NMSA 1978, the policy must be 
purchased by a NM based agent or broker.  Services must be rendered 
in NM. 

Handling Fees  Yes Per Section 7-2F-2(S) NMSA 1978, the payroll company must have 
physical presence in NM and payroll must be processed at NM 
location. Fee including gross receipts tax. 
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DEFINITIONS 
 
As defined by Section 7-2F-2 NMSA 1978: 
 
"affiliated person" means a person who directly or indirectly owns or controls, is owned or controlled by or 
is under common ownership or control with another person through ownership of voting securities or other 
ownership interests representing a majority of the total voting power of the entity; 
 
"background artist" means a person who is not a performing artist but is a person of atmospheric business 
whose work includes atmospheric noise, normal actions, gestures, and facial expressions of that person's 
assignment; or a person of atmospheric business whose work includes special abilities that are not stunts; 
or a substitute for another actor, whether photographed as a double or acting as a stand-in; 
 
"below-the-line crew" means a person in a position that is off-camera and who provides technical services 
during the physical production of a film. "Below-the-line crew" does not include a person who is a writer, 
director, producer, or background artist or performing artist for the film; 
 
"commercial audiovisual product" means a film or a video game intended for commercial exploitation; 
 
"direct production expenditure" is defined under Section 7-2F-2(E) NMSA 1978; 
 
"division" means the New Mexico film division of the economic development department; 
 
"federal new markets tax credit program" means the tax credit program codified as Section 45D of the  
United States Internal Revenue Code of 1986, as amended; 
 
"film" means a single medium or multimedia program, including television programs but excluding 
advertising messages other than national or regional advertising messages intended for exhibition, that: 
is fixed on film, a digital medium, videotape, computer disc, laser disc or other similar delivery medium; 
can be viewed or reproduced; 
is not intended to and does not violate a provision of Chapter 30, Article 37 NMSA 1978; and 
is intended for reasonable commercial exploitation for the delivery medium used; 
 
"film production company" means a person that produces one or more films or commercial audiovisual 
products or any part of a film or commercial audiovisual product; 
 
"fiscal year" means the state fiscal year beginning on July 1; 
 
"New Mexico film partner" means a film production company that has made a commitment to produce films 
or commercial audiovisual products in New Mexico and has purchased or executed a ten-year contract to 
lease a qualified production facility; 
 
"New Mexico resident" means an individual who is domiciled in this state during any part of the taxable year 
or an individual who is physically present in this state for one hundred eighty-five days or more during the 
taxable year; but any individual, other than someone who was physically present in the state for one 
hundred eighty-five days or more during the taxable year and who, on or before the last day of the taxable 
year, changed the individual's place of abode to a place without this state with the bona fide intention of 
continuing actually to abide permanently without this state is not a resident for the purposes of the Film 
Production Tax Credit Act for periods after that change of abode; 
 
"performing artist" means an actor, on-camera stunt person, puppeteer, pilot who is a stunt person or actor, 
specialty foreground performer or narrator; and who speaks a line of dialogue, is identified with the product, 
or reacts to narration as assigned.  "Performing artist" does not include a background artist; 
 
"personal services business" means a business organization, with or without physical presence, that 
receives payments pursuant to the Film Production Tax Credit Act for the services of a performing artist; 
 
"physical presence" means a physical address in New Mexico from which a vendor conducts business, 
stores inventory, or otherwise creates, assembles, or offers for sale the product purchased or leased by a 
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film production company and the vendor or an employee of the vendor is a resident; 
 
"postproduction expenditure" means an expenditure, certified pursuant to Subsection A of Section 7-2F-12 
NMSA 1978, for editing, Foley recording, automatic dialogue replacement, sound editing, special effects, 
including computer-generated imagery or other effects, scoring and music editing, beginning and end 
credits, negative cutting, soundtrack production, dubbing, subtitling or addition of sound or visual effects; 
but not including an expenditure for advertising, marketing, distribution or expense payments; 
 
"principal photography" means the production of a film during which the main visual elements are created; 
 
"qualified production facility" means a building, or complex of buildings, building improvements and 
associated back-lot facilities in which films are or are intended to be regularly produced and that contain at 
least one: (1)  sound stage with contiguous floor space of at least seven thousand square feet and a ceiling 
height of no less than eighteen feet; or (2)  standing set that includes at least one interior, and at least five 
exteriors, built or re-purposed for film production use on a continual basis and is located on at least fifty 
acres of contiguous space designated for film production use; 
 
"vendor"  means a person who sells or leases goods or services that are related to standard industry craft 
inventory, who has a physical presence in New Mexico and is subject to gross receipts tax pursuant to the 
Gross Receipts and Compensating Tax Act or income tax pursuant to the Income Tax Act or corporate 
income tax pursuant to the Corporate Income and Franchise Tax Act but excludes a personal services 
business and services provided by nonresidents hired or subcontracted if the tasks and responsibilities are 
associated with the standard industry job position of director, writer or producer. 
 

Declaration of Residency (DOR) 
 
 A New Mexico resident must meet the definition under Section 7-2F-2(L) NMSA 1978 or as 

provided in the list of definitions above. 
 The New Mexico resident needs to have a copy of their current New Mexico driver’s license or New 

Mexico state issued ID and Form RPD-41271, Declaration of Residency Form.  
 If the New Mexico resident is a minor and is claimed as a dependent on someone else’s income 

tax return, the full name and social security number of the individual claiming the dependent on 
their personal income tax return is needed on the DOR to verify New Mexico residency.  
 

EXPENDITURES 
 
Qualifying Direct Production Expenditures 
 

 For all eligible expenses for direct production expenditures, the original receipts will need to be 
provided with the application to be reviewed and approved or denied. 

 
 Qualifying expenses must be subject to gross receipts tax pursuant to the Gross Receipts and 

Compensating Tax Act or income tax pursuant to the Income Tax Act or corporate income tax 
pursuant to the Corporate Income and Franchise Tax Act. 

 
 Section 7-2F-2 (E) NMSA 1978 defines “direct production expenditure” as “a transaction that is 

subject to taxation in New Mexico and is certified pursuant to Section 7-2F-12(A) NMSA 1978. For 
the new film production tax credit direct production expenditures are further clarified in Section 7-
2F-13 NMSA 1978. 

 
 Section 7-2F-2(S) NMSA 1978 defines “vendor” as “a person who sells or leases goods or services 

that are related to standard industry craft inventory, who has a physical presence in New Mexico 
and is subject to gross receipts tax pursuant to the Gross Receipts and Compensating Tax Act or 
income tax pursuant to the Income Tax Act or corporate income tax pursuant to the Corporate 
Income and Franchise Tax Act but excludes a personal services business and services provided 
by nonresidents hired or subcontracted if the tasks and responsibilities are associated with the 
standard industry job position of director, writer or producer.” 
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 Section 7-2F-2(O) NMSA 1978 defines "physical presence" to mean a physical address in New 
Mexico from which a vendor conducts business, stores inventory, or otherwise creates, assembles, 
or offers for sale the product purchased or leased by a film production company and the vendor or 
an employee of the vendor is a resident. 

 
Unqualified Expenses 
 
If the original receipts for the expenditure are not provided and the transaction is not supported as a direct 
production expenditure, as defined in Section 7-2F-2(E) and 7-2F-13 NMSA 1978, TRD will disallow the 
expense as it will be considered unqualified for the purposes of the film credits. 
 
Examples of unqualified expenses include but are not limited to: 
 
 Anything that is not subject to New Mexico gross receipts tax or income tax. 
 Anything provided by a vendor who does not have physical presence in New Mexico, including internet 

purchases. 
 All flights booked directly through an airline. 
 All flights that do not originate or do not end in New Mexico. 
 If a car is booked through a New Mexico Travel Agent for an out-of-state pick up, the transaction is to 

be disallowed. 
 Expenses claimed in a previous film application. 
 Expenses from out-of-state vendor(s). 
 Hidden or Indirect service fees, costs, commissions, or costs not directly paid by the film production 

company applying for the film credits. 
 Performing artist(s) hired by a production company who do not have New Mexico withholding at the 

maximum rate. 
 Loan-out performing artists who do not have New Mexico withholding at the maximum rate and New 

Mexico gross receipts tax paid on the invoice amount for the loan-out.  
 Expenses that are for entertainment, amusement, or recreation. Section 7-2F-2(E)(2)(c) NMSA 1978.  
 Family Flights & Expenditures. Section 7-2F-2(E)(2)(c) NMSA 1978. 
 Expenditures purchased from a Non-Profit Organization(s), Tribal location purchases and Government 

Entities per Section 7-2F-2(E)(2)(d) NMSA 1978, when these expenditures are not subject to gross 
receipts taxes. 

 Wages for a person who is not a New Mexico resident and who falsely claims to be a New Mexico 
resident. NOTE: If a false claim is made in regard to the residency for the wages of such a person that 
will result in any eligible expenses in relation to that person for two years being disallowed, regardless 
of whether that person becomes a New Mexico resident in the two following years or not.  

 Expenses associated with the development training for film and multimedia production companies’ 
program by the NMFO of EDD as outlined under Section 21-19-7.1 NMSA 1978 by a film production 
company. 

 
Examples of the most common expenditures (not an exhaustive list): 
 
Expenses with Limits 
 

 Passenger vehicle limits are $150 per day per person for in-state transportation for individuals 
related to the production.  The vehicle must be picked up at a qualifying rental company with a New 
Mexico location and subject to New Mexico tax.  
 

 The first $150 of the daily expense of leasing of vehicles, not including the chartering of aircraft for 
out-of-state transportation; however, New Mexico-based chartered aircraft for in-state 
transportation directly attributable to the production shall be considered a direct production 
expenditure. 
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 Lodging; the first $300 of lodging per individual, per day at a qualified New Mexico hotel, motel, or 
house rental. Note: these services must be provided by a “vendor”, see definition(s) on page 9.  
 

 Gifts to crew/actors; maximum of $100 per individual from a vendor with physical presence in New 
Mexico. 
 

 Artwork or jewelry: expenditure $2,500 or less and the item needs to be on camera. Documentation 
must be provided that the artwork or jewelry was used in the film production and that the purchase 
was made from a vendor with physical presence in New Mexico. 

 
Box Rentals (Standard Industry Craft) per Section 7-2F-2(E)(1)(b) NMSA 1978 
 

 Payment for standard industry craft inventory when provided by a below-the-line crew that is a 
New Mexico resident in addition to its below-the-line crew services. 

 
New Mexico Resident per Section 7-2F-2(E)(1)(a) NMSA 1978 

 Payment of wages, fringe benefits, or fees for talent, management, or labor to a person who is a 
New Mexico resident. 

 

Description 
Is it a 

Qualified 
Expenditure? 

Requirements 

New Mexico Residents 
Services must be rendered in New Mexico. Declaration of 

Residency (DOR) and NM Identification card are required. For more 
information, see Declaration of Residency (DOR) on page 8 

Wages  Yes Per Section 7-2F-2 (E)(1)(a) NMSA 1978, Services must be rendered 
in NM. 

Benefits Yes Per Section 7-2F-2 (E)(1)(a) NMSA 1978. This provision covers NM 
full-time or first-year residents. Benefits include Pension, Health, and 
Welfare. 

Workers' 
Compensation 

Yes Per Section 7-2F-2 (E)(1)(e)(10) NMSA 1978, the policy must be 
purchased by a NM based agent or broker.  Services must be rendered 
in NM. 

Fringes Yes Per Section 7-2F-2 (E)(1)(a) NMSA 1978, Services must be rendered 
in NM. Fringes for the purposes of this credit includes per diem and 
allowances. 

Handling Fees Yes Per Section 7-2F-2(S) NMSA 1978, the payroll company must have 
physical presence in NM and payroll must be processed at NM 
location. 

 
Extras 
 

Description 
Is it a 

Qualified 
Expenditure? 

Requirements 

Extras 
Services must be rendered in New Mexico and person must be a 
NM Resident. DORs are not required although TRD does check the 

payroll and internal resources to ensure eligibility. 
Wages Yes Per Section 7-2F-2(E)(1)(a) NMSA 1978   

Benefits Yes Per Section 7-2F-2(E)(1)(a) NMSA 1978. 

Workers' 
Compensation 

Yes Per Section 7-2F-2(E)(1)(e) (10) NMSA 1978, the policy must be 
purchased by a NM based agent or broker.  Services must be rendered 
in NM. 
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Fringes Yes Per Section 7-2F-2 (E)(1)(a) NMSA 1978. Fringes for the purposes of 
this credit includes per diem and allowances. 

Handling Fees Yes Per Section 7-2F-2(S) NMSA 1978, all vendors must meet statutory 
requirements. Fee including gross receipts tax. 

 
Cap on Performing Artists Per Section 7-2F-13 (L) NMSA 1978 
 

 “That amount of a new film production tax credit for total payments as applied to direct production 
expenditures for the services of performing artists shall not exceed five million dollars ($5,000,000) 
for services rendered by nonresident performing artists in a production. This limitation shall not 
apply to the services of background artists or resident performing artists cast in industry standard 
feature performing roles.” 

o Note: The five million dollar ($5,000,000) cap is on the credit allowed, not on the amount 
of expenditures incurred by productions. 

 
Cap on New Mexico Film Partner Per Section 7-2F-13 (M) NMSA 1978 
 

 “In addition to the amount of payments allowed pursuant to Subsection L of this section, that amount 
of a new film production tax credit for total payments as applied to direct production expenditures 
made by a New Mexico film partner for the services of nonresident performing artists, directors, 
producers, screenwriters and editors shall not exceed ten million dollars ($10,000,000) for services 
rendered for each production; provided that the total payments allowed pursuant to this subsection 
shall not exceed an annual aggregate maximum of forty million dollars ($40,000,000) for all 
productions in a fiscal year. If the aggregate amount of payments made in a fiscal year is less than 
the annual aggregate maximum, then the difference in that fiscal year shall be added to the annual 
aggregate maximum allowed in the following fiscal year." 
 

o Note: The ten-million-dollar ($10,000,000) cap per production, and forty million dollar 
($40,000,000) aggregate cap is on the credit allowed, not on the expenditures incurred by 
productions. 

o Note: For directors, producers, screenwriters, and editors this additional portion of credit 
still requires New Mexico withholding and/or gross receipts taxation. Per Section 7-2F-
2(E)(1)(c)(d) NMSA 1978. 

o Note: If a production company qualifies for both Section 7-2F-13 (L) and (M), it may receive 
up to fifteen million dollars ($15,000,000) for a single production. 

Direct Hire Performing Artist Section 7-2F-2(E)(1)(c) NMSA 1978 
Payment for wages and per diem for a performing artist who is not a New Mexico resident and who is 
directly employed by the film production company; provided that the film production company deducts and 
remits, or causes to be deducted and remitted, income tax from the first day of services rendered in New 
Mexico at the maximum rate pursuant to the Withholding Tax Act; 
 

Description 
Is it a 

Qualified 
Expenditure? 

Requirements 

Direct Hire (Performing Artist) Services must be rendered in New Mexico and withholding at the 
maximum rate. 

Wages Yes Per Section 7-2F-2 (E)(1)(c) NMSA 1978, only allowable if the 
production company deducts and remits NM withholding tax from the 
first day services are rendered in NM at the maximum rate pursuant to 
the Withholding Tax Act. 

Per Diem Yes Per Section 7-2F-2 (E)(1)(c) NMSA 1978. 

Workers' 
Compensation  

Yes Per Section 7-2F-2(E)(1)(e)(10) NMSA 1978, the policy must be 
purchased by a NM based agent or broker.  Services must be rendered 
in NM. 
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Handling Fees  Yes Per Section 7-2F-2(S) NMSA 1978, the payroll company must have 
physical presence in NM and payroll must be processed at NM 
location. Fee including gross receipts tax. 

Benefits No Per Section 7-2F-2(E)(1)(c) NMSA 1978. 

Fringes No Per Section 7-2F-2(E)(1)(c) NMSA 1978. 

 
Loan Out per Section 7-2F-2(E)(1)(d) NMSA 1978 
“Payment to a personal services business for the services of a performing artist if: 1) the personal services 
business pays gross receipts tax in New Mexico on the portion of those payments qualifying for the tax 
credit; and 2) the film production company deducts and remits, or causes to be deducted and remitted, 
income tax at the maximum rate in New Mexico pursuant to Section 7-3A-3(H) NMSA 1978 on the portion 
of those payments qualifying for the tax credit paid to a personal services business where the performing 
artist is a full or part owner of that business or subcontracts with a personal services business where the 
performing artist is a full or part owner of that business.” 
 

Description 
Is it a 

Qualified 
Expenditure? 

Requirements 

Super Loan Out (SLO) 
(Performing Artist) 

Services must be rendered in New Mexico, GRT paid and 
withholding at the maximum rate.  

SLO Payments Yes Per Section 7-2F-2(E)(1)(d) NMSA 1978. 

 
Reimbursements, Per Diem, Allowances 

 
 Reimbursements of production expenditures are allowed for employees or contractors working on 

behalf of the production company claiming the credit; the original receipts must be provided, and 
the expense must meet all requirements of a direct production expenditure to qualify. 
 

 Per diem is allowed for residents, and non-resident performing artists only. 
 

 Allowances are allowed for eligible purchases for direct production expenditures with original 
receipts.  

 
New Mexico Expenditures 
 

Description 
Is it a 

Qualified 
Expenditure? 

Requirements 

New Mexico Expenditures Services must be rendered in New Mexico. 

Set construction 
and operations. 

Yes Per Section 7-2F-2(E)(1)(e)(2) NMSA 1978, all vendors must meet 
statutory requirements. 

Set wardrobe Yes Per Section 7-2F-2(E)(1)(e)(2) NMSA 1978, all vendors must meet 
statutory requirements. 

Set accessories Yes Per Section 7-2F-2(E)(1)(e)(2) NMSA 1978, all vendors must meet 
statutory requirements. 

Set related 
services 

Yes Per Section 7-2F-2(E)(1)(e)(2) NMSA 1978, all vendors must meet 
statutory requirements. 

Photography Yes Per Section 7-2F-2(E)(1)(e)(3) NMSA 1978, all vendors must meet 
statutory requirements. 

Sound 
Synchronization 

Yes Per Section 7-2F-2(E)(1)(e)(3) NMSA 1978, all vendors must meet 
statutory requirements. 
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Lighting Yes Per Section 7-2F-2(E)(1)(e)(3) NMSA 1978, all vendors must meet 
statutory requirements. 

Editing Yes Per Section 7-2F-2(E)(1)(e)(4) NMSA 1978, all vendors must meet 
statutory requirements. 

Rental of 
facilities 

Yes Per Section 7-2F-2(E)(1)(e)(5) NMSA 1978, all vendors must meet 
statutory requirements. 

Rental of 
equipment 

Yes Per Section 7-2F-2(E)(1)(e)(5) NMSA 1978, all vendors must meet 
statutory requirements. i.e.- production vehicles 

Chartered 
aircraft 

Yes Per Section 7-2F-2(E)(1)(e)(6) NMSA 1978, all vendors must meet 
statutory requirements, and expenditures must be for in-state 
transportation directly attributable to the production purchased by a NM 
based company. Ticket needs to be issued to individuals. 

Insurance 
coverage 

Yes Per Section 7-2F-2(E)(1)(e)(10) NMSA 1978, all vendors must meet 
statutory requirements. 

Bonding Yes Per Section 7-2F-2(E)(1)(e)(10) NMSA 1978, all vendors must meet 
statutory requirements. 

CPA Services  Yes Per Section Per 7-2F-13(K) NMSA 1978, for a credit of 5M+, for an 
external audit, the CPA firm must be NM vendor.  The CPA must be 
licensed to practice in NM. 

Gifts Yes Per Section 7-2F-2(E)(2)(a) NMSA 1978, the limit allowed is $100.  
Anything over would be disallowed.  

Artwork or 
Jewelry 

Yes Per Section 7-2F-2(E)(2)(b) NMSA 1978, the item must be purchased 
through a NM-based company and 1.) used in the film production 2.) 
the expenditure is less than $2,500. 

Internet 
purchases 

Yes Per Section 7-2F-2(S) NMSA 1978, all vendors must meet statutory 
requirements. Internet purchases from companies who have 
established a physical presence in NM are allowable expenditures. 

Public Parking Yes The transaction must be subject to governmental gross receipts tax 
(GGRT) 

Shipping Yes Per Section 7-2F-2(E)(1)(e)(12) NMSA 1978, all vendors must meet 
statutory requirements. Shipment must have originated from a qualified 
NM based company. 

Out-of-State 
vendor 

Yes Only if purchase is done through a pass-through NM based company 
and gross receipts tax is paid.  

Leasing of 
vehicles 

Yes Per Section 7-2F-2(E)(1)(e)(6) NMSA 1978, only the first $150 of the 
daily expense of leasing a vehicle that is directly attributed to the 
production.  

Food Yes Per Section 7-2F-2(E)(1)(e)(7) NMSA 1978.  
Lodging  Yes Per Section 7-2F-2 (E)(1)(e)(8) NMSA 1978, the first $300 of lodging 

per individual, per day. 
Flights Yes Per Section 7-2F-2 (E)(1)(e)(9) NMSA 1978, commercial airfare is 

allowable if purchased through a qualifying NM-based travel agent or 
travel company for travel to and from NM or within NM. Itineraries are 
to be provided for review. 

Car Service Yes Per Section 7-2F-2 (E)(1)(e) (12) NMSA 1978, a car (service) can be 
booked through the NM travel agent to be picked up at an airport, 
rental home or hotel and taken to a location or airport only in NM. 

Storage 
Facilities 

Yes For a continuing series. 

Location Fees Yes Location must be in NM and subject to tax. 

Inconvenience 
Fees 

Yes Must be to a NM resident or location. 

Entertainment, 
Amusement or 
Recreation 
(Wrap party) 

No Per Section 7-2F-2(E)(2)(c) NMSA 1978, considered an indirect 
expense. 
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Tribal location 
purchases 

No Per Section 7-2F-2(E)(2)(d) NMSA 1978, direct purchases from a tribe 
are not taxable on tribal locations. 

Government 
Entities 

No Per Section 7-2F-2(E)(2)(d) NMSA 1978, government Entities are tax 
exempt. 

Non-profit 
organizations 

No Per Section 7-2F-2(E)(2)(d) NMSA 1978 Non-profit organizations are 
generally not taxable. 

Family Flights & 
Expenditures 

No Considered an indirect expense. 

Out of State 
Vendor 

No Per Section 7-2F-2(S) NMSA 1978 

Internet 
Purchases 

No Not allowed where vendor does not have NM physical presence. 

 
Non-Resident Vendors 
 

Description 
Is it a 

Qualified 
Expenditure? 

Comments 

Non-Resident Vendors  
Director No Per Section 7-2F-2(S)NMSA 1978 
Writer No Per Section 7-2F-2(S) NMSA 1978 
Producer No Per Section 7-2F-2(S) NMSA 1978 

 
Postproduction Expenditures: 
 
Under Section 7-2F-2(P) NMSA 1978  “postproduction expenditure” means an expenditure, certified 
pursuant to Subsection A of Section 7-2F-12 NMSA 1978, for editing, Foley recording, automatic dialogue 
replacement, sound editing, special effects, including computer-generated imagery or other effects, scoring 
and music editing, beginning and end credits, negative cutting, soundtrack production, dubbing, subtitling 
or addition of sound or visual effects; but not including an expenditure for advertising, marketing, distribution 
or expense payments.  
 
Section 7-2F-13(B)(2) NMSA 1978 allows a film production company to apply for:  

(2) postproduction expenditures made in New Mexico that:  
(a) are directly attributable to the production of a commercial film or audiovisual 

product; 
(b) are for services performed in New Mexico; 
(c) are subject to taxation by the state of New Mexico; 
(d) exclude postproduction expenditures for which another taxpayer claims the new 

film production tax credit; and 
(e) do not exceed the usual and customary cost of the goods or services acquired 

when purchased by unrelated parties. The secretary of taxation and revenue may determine the 
value of the goods or services for purposes of this section when the buyer and seller are affiliated 
persons or the sale or purchase is not an arm's length transaction. 

 
APPLYING FOR A FILM PRODUCTION TAX CREDIT 

 
Submission of Application to TRD 
 
How to apply for the Film Production Tax Credit:  
First, a film production company must be approved by the NMFO of the EDD. Once approval from EDD is 
received, the company may apply for the credit by submitting a completed Form RPD-41381, Application 
for New Film Production Tax Credit (Productions starting July 1, 2023), along with the NMFO’s approval, a 
breakout of the New Mexico costs for each line item (ledger), in excel format along with supporting 
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documentation to TRD in accordance with Section 7-2F-13(K) NMSA 1978. The ledger totals and the 
amounts provided on the application must be the same. 
 
Section 7-2F-13 (K) NMSA 1978 states “…the application shall be submitted within one year of the date 
of the last direct production expenditure in New Mexico or the last postproduction expenditure in New 
Mexico …” For purposes of this section, an expenditure is made when the expense is incurred, and not 
when it is paid. 

 The last expenditure date is based on the date the expense was incurred not the date the invoice 
was paid. 

 Regulation 3.13.9.7 NMAC specifies, “a direct production expenditure includes only those 
expenditures directly incurred and paid by the qualified production company to the vendor of the 
services or property and does not include expenditures incurred and paid by a third party even if 
incurred on behalf of the qualified production company.” 

To be eligible for the credit, the film production company must pay all obligations the film production 
company has incurred in New Mexico, provide public notification upon completion of principal photography 
on the website of the division that contains both local and permanent production company information, 
including the name, address, working phone number, fax, and email address.  
 
Note: Beginning with tax year 2015, a film production company that is eligible to receive a film production 
tax credit may assign the payment of the credit to a third-party financial institution, or to an authorized third 
party, one time in a full or partial amount.  
 
For more information on the film credit and current numbers for credits claimed see the Department’s 
website here: https://www.tax.newmexico.gov/tax-professionals/tax-credits-overview-forms/film-
production-tax-credit/  
 
Certified Public Accountant (CPA) Audits 
 

 Section 7-2F-13(K) states “…If the amount of the requested tax credit exceeds $5,000,000, the 
application shall also include the results of an audit, conducted by a certified public accountant 
licensed to practice in New Mexico, verifying that the expenditures have been made in compliance 
with the requirements of his section…” 

 For CPA audits, the application and all supporting documentation (ledgers, invoices, etc.) are 
required to be turned in together.  Ledgers and Application amounts should be the same. Failure 
to submit the supporting documentation and the application together will result in your application 
being denied. 

 The audit must include a copy of the CPA’s license to practice in NM. 
 A Tax Information Authorization form(s) (TIAs) for individuals processing the credit and for the CPA 

conducting the audit shall be submitted to the NMTRD with the application. 
 
Timeline for Credit 

 Once the NMFO has reviewed and confirmed that all obligations are met by the production 
company, the Application/Memo package will be submitted to New Mexico Taxation and Revenue 
Department. 
 

 TRD has 120 days from the date of the approval memo and receipt of a completed application 
including required documentation from the NMFO/production to complete the credit review for 
approval or denial as outlined in Section 7-1-29.2 NMSA 1978.  

 The TRD reviewer will email an additional information letter (if applicable), and Form ACD-31102, 
Tax Information Authorization Disclosure (TIAs) to the contact on the application if not already 
provided with the application.  

 Once TRD has completed the review, the production company can submit a credit refund. See 
below for instructions.  Filing for a film credit refund may only occur at the end of the company’s 
taxable year.   

o Business Credit An approval or denial Letter will be sent via email to the person on the 
application on or before the 120-day deadline.  

https://www.tax.newmexico.gov/tax-professionals/tax-credits-overview-forms/film-production-tax-credit/
https://www.tax.newmexico.gov/tax-professionals/tax-credits-overview-forms/film-production-tax-credit/


New Mexico Taxation and Revenue Department 
 

FYI-370 ♦ 06/04/2024 ♦ Page 16 

 If approved, a NM Income Tax return will need to be filed for each year of expenditures (if there 
is more than one tax year) to receive the credit refund. The income tax return will need to 
include the necessary Schedule -CR, Form RPD-41228, Film-Related Tax Credit Claim Form, 
the Film Tax Credit Application, Business Credit Approval Letter, and Form RPD-41366, Notice 
of Distribution of Film Production Tax Credit. For more information, see Claiming the Film 
Production Tax Credit on page 16. 

 
For the return to be processed more quickly, it can be electronically filed using the Taxation and Revenue 
Department’s Taxpayer Access Point (TAP): https://tap.state.nm.us/Tap 
 

Claiming the Film Production Tax Credit 
 
How to Claim the Film Production Tax Credit 
 
After the film production company is determined eligible by the NMFO and approved by TRD, film-related 
tax credits may be claimed by attaching a completed Form RPD-41228, Film-Related Tax Credit Claim 
Form, including Schedule A, to the film production company's complete New Mexico Income Tax Return 
and filed after the close of its tax year for authorization for payment.  
 
Completing the Income Tax Return: 
 
For productions that commenced prior to July 1, 2019, the credit may be claimed by filing the New Mexico 
Information Return for Pass-Through Entities if applicable. Thereafter, Pass-Through Entities (PTE) who 
file this form must use Form RPD-41366, Notice of Distribution of Film Production Tax Credit, to report to 
TRD a distribution of an approved film production tax credit from a PTE to an owner, member, or partner.  
If the entity is disregarded for income tax purposes, the credit must be claimed on the entity parent’s return 
or personal income tax return. 
 
Complete the income tax return based on the federal return that you are required to file.  
 
If you are required to file:        File New Mexico Income Tax Return: 
Federal Form 1040   Personal Income Tax Return  
Federal Form 1041   Fiduciary Income Tax Return  
Federal Form 1120   Corporate Income and Franchise Tax Return 
Federal Form 1120S   Sub-Chapter S Corporate Income and Franchise Tax Return 
Federal Form 1065   Information Return for Pass-Through Entities  
 
The following documents are to be included with the completed income tax return when filing a claim for 
Film Credit: 
 

1. Copy of the approval letter issued by the Taxation and Revenue Department 
2. Copy of Final Film Tax Credit Application 
3. Form RPD-41228, Film-Related Tax Credit Claim Form 
4. Form RPD-41380, Notice of Assignment of Film Production Tax Credit (If applicable) 
5. Form RPD-41366, Notice of Distribution of Film Production Tax Credit (If applicable) 

 
Forms can be found on the following website: 

https://www.tax.newmexico.gov/forms-publications/  > Tax Credits > Film Production 
 
You also need to complete the tax credit schedule, CIT-CR, PIT-CR, S-Corp-CR or FID-CR, with the 
applicable tax return. Enter the total film-related tax credit approved and the amount of the credit that you 
want applied to the tax liability due and refunded on the Schedule CR for business related tax credits. TRD 
will compare the amounts entered and determine how and when the credit will be paid.  
 
Attach documents listed above to your e-filed income tax return or attach and mail the claim form with your 
completed return to:  

https://tap.state.nm.us/Tap
https://www.tax.newmexico.gov/forms-publications/
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New Mexico Taxation and Revenue Department 
Attention: Business Credit Claim Unit 
PO BOX 630 
Santa Fe, NM 87502-0630 
 
Normal refund processing can take up to 16 weeks, depending on the amount and if the return is mailed. 
Subject to certain limitations, the amount of the tax credit authorized for payment may be applied to the tax 
due on the return. If the amount of the film-related tax credit exceeds the film production company's income 
tax liability for the tax year, the excess may be refunded. No interest will be paid on any credit amount 
refunded pursuant to the Film Production Tax Credit Act (Section 7-1-68 NMSA 1978). 
 
The Department encourages you to file electronically whenever possible. Electronic filing is fast and secure, 
and it provides these benefits:  
• You receive your refund faster.  
• The state saves tax dollars in processing costs.  
• Filing is free on the Department website: Taxpayer Access Point (TAP): https://tap.state.nm.us/Tap  
or can be filed using department approved software. 
 
Note: Effective on or after July 1, 2019, film production companies that commence principal photography 
for a film or commercial audiovisual product may not claim the film production tax credit by filing a New 
Mexico Information Return for Pass-Through Entities unless the taxpayer is an authorized third-party 
pursuant to Section 7-2F-5 NMSA 1978. 
 
Notice of Distribution of Film Production Tax Credit 
 
Use Form RPD-41366, Notice of Distribution of Film Production Tax Credit, to report to TRD a distribution 
of approved film production tax credit from a PTE to an owner, member, or partner. If the approved film 
production company is required to file a New Mexico PTE return, you must complete and attach this form 
to that return. 
 
Assignment of Film Production Tax Credit 
 
After the film production company has received approval for the total qualifying expenditures from TRD, a 
completed Form RPD-41380, Notice of Assignment of Film Production Tax Credit, allows TRD to honor an 
assignment of the film production tax credit to a third-party financial institution, or to an authorized third-
party. Form RPD-41380 must be attached to the film production company's income tax return on which the 
credit is claimed. Please contact businesscredit.mgr@tax.nm.gov if the credit will be assigned to a third 
party. 
 
An approved film production tax credit can be assigned once and may not be further transferred or assigned. 
 
For purposes of the Film Production Tax Credit Act  
(1) an authorized third-party means an entity that:  

(a) holds the rights to a film for which a film production tax credit may be claimed; and  
(b) initiates that film's production, and  

(2) a financial institution means:  
(a) a fund purposely created to produce a film; or  
(b) a bank, savings institution or credit union that is organized or chartered pursuant to the laws of 
New Mexico or the United States and that files a New Mexico income tax return. The financial 
institution or authorized third-party must be verified, in advance, by the NMFO. 

 
Taxpayer Remedies 

If any credit is denied, there are remedies available to any production company to dispute the denials 
per Section 7-1-29.2 NMSA 1978. 
 

https://tap.state.nm.us/Tap
mailto:businesscredit.mgr@tax.nm.gov
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Questions 
For any question for the New Mexico Film Office in the Economic Development Department in regards 
to the film credit, please email: 
info@nmfilm.com or Call 505-476-5600 
 
For any questions regarding the applications or application process with the Taxation and Revenue 
Department for Film Production Tax Credit or the review for film credit, and/or expenditure 
qualifications, please email: 
TRD-FilmCredit@state.nm.us Or Call 505-795-1735. 
 
For any questions regarding the claiming of an approved credit or for filing Form RPD-41228, Film-Related 
Tax Credit Claim Form, Form RPD-41380, Notice of Assignment of Film Production Tax Credit, Form RPD-
41366, Notice of Distribution of Film Production Tax Credit, tax returns or refund questions, please email:  
businesscredit.mgr@tax.nm.gov   Or Call 505-827-0792. 
 
  

mailto:info@nmfilm.com
mailto:TRD-FilmCredit@state.nm.us
mailto:businesscredit.mgr@tax.nm.gov
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TAXPAYER INFORMATION 

 
General Information. FYIs and Bulletins present general information with minimum technical language. 
All FYIs and Bulletins are free of charge and available through all local tax offices and on the Taxation 
and Revenue Department’s website at https://www.tax.newmexico.gov/forms-publications/  
 
Regulations. The Department establishes regulations to interpret and exemplify the various tax acts it 
administers. Current statutes with regulations can be located on the Departments website for free at 
https://www.tax.newmexico.gov/all-nm-taxes/statutes-with-regulations/. Specific regulations are also 
available at the State Records Center and Archives or on its web page at http://www.srca.nm.gov/ 
 
The Taxation and Revenue Department regulation book is available for purchase from the New Mexico 
Compilation Commission. Order regulation books directly from the New Mexico Compilation Commission 
at https://www.nmcompcomm.us/ 
 
Rulings. Rulings signed by the Secretary and approved by the Attorney General are written statements 
that apply to one or a small number of taxpayers. A taxpayer may request a ruling (at no charge) to clarify 
its tax liability or responsibility under specific circumstances. The Department will not issue a ruling to a 
taxpayer who is undergoing an audit, who has an outstanding assessment, or who is involved in a protest 
or litigation with the Department over the subject matter of the request. The Department’s rulings are 
compiled and available on free of charge at https://www.tax.newmexico.gov/all-nm-taxes/rulings/. 
 
The request for a ruling must be in writing, include accurate taxpayer identification and the details about 
the taxpayer’s situation, and be addressed to the Secretary of the Taxation and Revenue Department at 
P.O. Box 630, Santa Fe, NM 87504-0630. The taxpayer’s representative, such as an accountant or 
attorney, may request a ruling on behalf of the taxpayer but must disclose the name of the taxpayer. 
While the Department is not required to issue a ruling when requested to do so, every request is carefully 
considered. 
 
The Secretary may modify or withdraw any previously issued ruling and is required to withdraw or modify 
any ruling when subsequent legislation, regulations, final court decisions or other rulings invalidate a 
ruling or portions of a ruling.  
 
Public Decisions & Orders. All public decisions and orders issued since July 1994 are compiled and 
available on the Department’s web page free of charge at https://www.tax.newmexico.gov/all-nm-
taxes/tax-decisions-orders/. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
This publication provides general information. It does not constitute a regulation, ruling, or decision issued 
by the Secretary of the New Mexico Taxation and Revenue Department. The Department is legally bound 
only by a regulation or a ruling [7-1-60, New Mexico Statutes Annotated, 1978]. In the event of a conflict 
between FYI and statute, regulation, case law or policy, the information in FYIs is overridden by statutes, 
regulations and case law. Taxpayers and preparers are responsible for being aware of New Mexico tax 
laws and rules. Consult the Department directly if you have questions or concerns about information 
provided in this FYI. 

https://www.tax.newmexico.gov/forms-publications/
https://www.tax.newmexico.gov/all-nm-taxes/statutes-with-regulations/
http://www.srca.nm.gov/
https://www.nmcompcomm.us/
https://www.tax.newmexico.gov/all-nm-taxes/rulings/
https://www.tax.newmexico.gov/all-nm-taxes/tax-decisions-orders/
https://www.tax.newmexico.gov/all-nm-taxes/tax-decisions-orders/
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FOR FURTHER ASSISTANCE  
 
 

Tax District Field Offices and the Department’s 
call center can provide full service and general 
information about the Department's taxes, 
taxpayer access point, programs, classes, and 
forms. Information specific to your filing situation, 
payment plans and delinquent accounts. 
 

TAX DISTRICT FIELD OFFICES 
 
ALBUQUERQUE 
10500 Copper Avenue NE, Ste C 
Albuquerque, NM 87123 
 
SANTA FE 
Manuel Lujan Sr. Bldg. 
1200 S St Francis Dr 
Santa Fe, NM 87505 
 
FARMINGTON 
3501 E Main St, Suite N 
Farmington, NM 87402 
 
LAS CRUCES 
2540 El Paseo Rd, Bldg 2 
Las Cruces, NM 88001 
 
ROSWELL 
400 N Pennsylvania Ave, Ste 200 
Roswell, NM 88201 

For forms and instructions visit the Department’s 
web site at https://www.tax.newmexico.gov/  
 

Call Center Number: 
1-866-285-2996 

 
If faxing something to a tax district field 
office, please fax to: 
 

Call Center Fax Number: 
1-505-841-6327 

 
If mailing information to a tax district field 
office, please mail to: 
 
Taxation and Revenue Department 
P.O. Box 8485 
Albuquerque, NM 87198-8485 
 
 
 
For additional contact information please visit the 
Department’s website at 
https://www.tax.newmexico.gov/contact-us/  
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
This information is as accurate as possible as of the date specified on the publication. Subsequent legislation, new state 
regulations and case law may affect its accuracy. For the latest information please check the Taxation and Revenue 
Department’s web site at www.tax.newmexico.gov. 
 
This publication provides general information. It does not constitute a regulation, ruling, or decision issued by the 
Secretary of the New Mexico Taxation and Revenue Department. The Department is legally bound only by a regulation 
or a ruling [7-1-60, New Mexico Statutes Annotated, 1978]. In the event of a conflict between FYI and statute, regulation, 
case law or policy, the information in FYIs is overridden by statutes, regulations and case law. Taxpayers and preparers 
are responsible for being aware of New Mexico tax laws and rules. Consult the Department directly if you have 
questions or concerns about information provided in this FYI. 
 

https://www.tax.newmexico.gov/
https://www.tax.newmexico.gov/contact-us/
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