
 BEFORE THE HEARING OFFICER 

 OF THE TAXATION AND REVENUE DEPARTMENT 

 OF THE STATE OF NEW MEXICO 

 

 

IN THE MATTER OF THE PROTEST OF 

HARRY’S ROADHOUSE      No. 02-25 

ID NO. 02-204206-00-7 

ASSESSMENT NO. 2608481 

 

 

DECISION AND ORDER 

 
 A formal hearing on the above-referenced protest was held October 21, 2002, before 

Margaret B. Alcock, Hearing Officer.  Harry’s Roadhouse (“Taxpayer”) was represented by its 

owner, Harry Shapiro.  The Taxation and Revenue Department ("Department") was represented by 

Peter Breen, Special Assistant Attorney General.  Based on the evidence and arguments presented, IT 

IS DECIDED AND ORDERED AS FOLLOWS: 

FINDINGS OF FACT 

 1. The Taxpayer is engaged in business in New Mexico and is registered with the 

Department for payment of gross receipts, compensating and withholding taxes, which are required 

to be paid monthly under the Department’s combined reporting system (“CRS”).   

 2. In 2000, the Taxpayer hired a bookkeeper who was responsible for reporting and 

paying the Taxpayer’s monthly CRS taxes, which are due on or before the 25
th

 day of the month 

following the month in which the taxable event occurs.   

 3. Pursuant to Section 7-1-13(B) NMSA 1978, a return and payment are timely if they 

are mailed on or before the due date.   

 4. The Taxpayer’s bookkeeper was late in preparing the CRS return for the October 

2000 reporting period, which was due on November 27, 2000 since November 25, 2000 was a 

Saturday.  
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 5. Because it was too late to mail the October 2000 return and payment by the statutory 

due date, the Taxpayer’s owner hand-delivered them to the Department on Tuesday, November 28, 

2000. 

 6. On December 15, 2000, the Department issued Assessment No. 2608481 to the 

Taxpayer, which included $293.27 of penalty and $183.29 of interest on the late payment of the 

Taxpayer’s October 2000 CRS taxes   

 7. On January 18, 2000, the Taxpayer mailed a written protest to the Department, 

protesting the assessment of penalty and interest.  The protest was accepted as timely after the 

Taxpayer applied for and was granted a retroactive extension of time to file a protest beyond the 30-

day period set out in Section 7-1-24 NMSA 1978.   

DISCUSSION 

 The issue to be decided is whether the Taxpayer is liable for the interest and penalty assessed 

on its late payment of CRS taxes for the October 2000 reporting period.  The Taxpayer does not 

dispute that its return and payment were not mailed or delivered to the Department by the statutory 

due date. The Taxpayer nonetheless maintains that it should be excused from payment of penalty and 

interest for the following reasons:  (1) the state did not lose any revenue as a result of the Taxpayer’s 

late payment because the Department received the Taxpayer’s hand-delivered payment on the same 

day that it would have received a timely payment mailed on the statutory due date; (2) the Taxpayer 

should be given the benefit of the amendment to Section 7-1-67 NMSA 1978 which became 

effective January 1, 2001 and requires interest on late payments to be calculated on a daily—rather 

than a monthly—basis; and (3) the Taxpayer has had an exemplary reporting history over a period of 

ten years and should be allowed one mistake without having to pay the penalty and interest imposed 

by New Mexico’s tax statutes.   
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 Burden of Proof.  Section 7-1-17 NMSA 1978 provides that any assessment of tax by the 

Department is presumed to be correct.  Section 7-1-3 NMSA 1978 defines tax to include not only the 

amount of tax principal imposed but also, unless the context otherwise requires, “the amount of any 

interest or civil penalty relating thereto."  See also, El Centro Villa Nursing Center v. Taxation and 

Revenue Department, 108 N.M. 795, 779 P.2d 982 (Ct. App. 1989).  Accordingly, the Department’s 

assessment of interest is presumed to be correct, and it is the Taxpayer’s burden to present evidence 

showing it is entitled to an abatement.   

 Assessment of Interest.  Section 7-1-67 NMSA 1978 governs the imposition of interest.  

During the period at issue, the statute provided, pertinent part:   

A. If any tax imposed is not paid on or before the day on which it becomes 
due, interest shall be paid to the state on such amount from the first day 
following the day on which the tax becomes due, without regard to any 
extension of time or installment agreement, until it is paid.... 
 
B. Interest due to the state under Subsection A or D of this section shall be at 
the rate of fifteen percent a year, computed at the rate of one and one-fourth 
percent per month or any fraction thereof.... 

 
The Legislature’s use of the word “shall” indicates that the assessment of interest is mandatory rather 

than discretionary.  State v. Lujan, 90 N.M. 103, 560 P.2d 167 (1977).  The Legislature has directed 

the Department to assess interest for each month—or fraction of a month—that taxes are not timely 

paid and has provided no exceptions to the mandate of the statute.   

 In this case, the Taxpayer raises two arguments in support of its protest to the assessment of 

interest.  First, the Taxpayer argues that no interest is due because the Department received the late 

payment the Taxpayer hand-delivered on November 28, 2000 on the same day that it would have 

received a timely payment mailed on November 27, 2000.  This is undoubtedly true.  It does not 

change the fact that the Taxpayer failed to pay its October 2000 CRS taxes by the statutory due date.  



 

 
 
 4 

Accordingly, interest was properly assessed under Section 7-1-67(A) NMSA 1978.  Despite the 

Taxpayer’s plea for equity, the Department’s hearing officer is required to apply the state’s tax laws as 

written.  As the New Mexico Supreme Court stated in State ex rel. Helman v. Gallegos, 117 N.M. 

346, 352, 871 P.2d 1352, 1358 (1994):  “If the meaning of a statute is truly clear, it is the 

responsibility of the judiciary to apply it as written and not second guess the Legislature's policy 

choices.”  The same rule applies to administrative hearing officers.   

 Second, the Taxpayer argues that it should be given the benefit of the Legislature’s 2000 

amendment to Section 7-1-67 NMSA 1978, which deleted the language requiring interest to be 

computed “at the rate of one and one-fourth percent per month or any fraction thereof” and replaced 

it with a directive that interest be computed “on a daily basis.”  See 2000 N.M. Laws, ch. 28, § 11.  

Although the Legislature could have made this change effective immediately, it chose not to do so.  

Instead, § 15 of the law specifically states that the old rate of interest applies to reporting periods 

ending on or before January 1, 2001, and the new rate of interest applies to reporting periods 

beginning on or after January 1, 2001.  The Department is bound by the Legislature’s clear statement 

on this issue.  Interest on the Taxpayer’s late payment of taxes for the October 2000 reporting period 

was properly computed on a monthly basis. 

 Assessment of Penalty.  Section 7-1-69 NMSA 1978 governs the imposition of penalty.  

Subsection A imposes a penalty of two percent per month or any fraction of a month, up to a 

maximum of ten percent, that a taxpayer fails “due to negligence or disregard of rules and 

regulations” to pay taxes or file required tax reports in a timely manner.  Taxpayer negligence for 

purposes of assessing penalty is defined in Regulation 3.1.11.10 NMAC as: 

 A. failure to exercise that degree of ordinary business care and 
prudence which reasonable taxpayers would exercise under 
like circumstances; 
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 B. inaction by taxpayers where action is required; 

 
 C. inadvertence, indifference, thoughtlessness, carelessness, 

erroneous belief or inattention. 
 
New Mexico case law confirms that penalty is properly assessed even when a taxpayer’s late 

payment is based on inadvertent error or unintentional failure to pay the tax due.  Arco Materials, 

Inc. v. Taxation & Revenue Department, 118 N.M. 12, 16, 878 P.2d 330, 334 (Ct. App. 1994) rev'd 

on other grounds by Blaze Construction Co. v. Taxation & Revenue Department, 118 N.M. 647, 884 

P.2d 803 (1994); El Centro Villa Nursing Center v. Taxation & Revenue Department, 108 N.M. 795, 

797-798, 779 P.2d 982, 984-985 (Ct. App. 1989).   

 In this case, the Taxpayer’s late payment of CRS taxes was due to the negligence of its 

bookkeeper, who failed to prepare the return and payment in time to meet the statutory due date.  

The Taxpayer asks the hearing officer to waive or reduce the penalty based on the Taxpayer’s 

exemplary reporting history and the substantial amount of CRS taxes it has paid to the state over the 

last ten years.  These are not factors the hearing officer can consider.  In State ex rel. Taylor v. 

Johnson, 1998-NMSC-015 ¶ 022, 961 P.2d 768, 774-775, the New Mexico Supreme Court made the 

following observations concerning the power of administrative agencies:   

Generally, the Legislature, not the administrative agency, declares the policy 
and establishes primary standards to which the agency must conform. See 

State ex rel. State Park & Recreation Comm'n v. New Mexico State Authority, 
76 N.M. 1, 13, 411 P.2d 984, 993 (1966).  The administrative agency's 
discretion may not justify altering, modifying or extending the reach of a law 
created by the Legislature....   

 
In this case, the Legislature has directed the imposition of penalty whenever a late payment results 

from the taxpayer’s negligence.  The Legislature has not granted the Department or its hearing 

officer authority to waive the penalty based on equitable grounds, including a taxpayer’s past 
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reporting history.  Because the Taxpayer’s late payment of its October 2000 CRS taxes was due to 

negligence, there is no basis for abating the penalty assessed.   

 CONCLUSIONS OF LAW 

 1. The Taxpayer filed a timely, written protest to Assessment No. 2608481, and 

jurisdiction lies over the parties and the subject matter of this protest. 

 2. The Taxpayer was late in paying its October 2000 CRS taxes to the state, and interest 

was properly assessed pursuant to Section 7-1-67 NMSA 1978.   

 3. The Taxpayer was negligent in failing to pay its October 2000 CRS taxes on time, and 

penalty was properly assessed pursuant to Section 7-1-69 NMSA 1978. 

 For the foregoing reasons, the Taxpayer's protest IS DENIED.   

 DATED October 22, 2002.   

 

 

       


