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STATE OF NEW MEXICO
ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS OFFICE
TAX ADMINISTRATION ACT

IN THE MATTER OF THE PROTEST OF
DAVID & RAYA KOVENSKY
TO THE ASSESSMENT
ISSUED UNDER LETTER ID NO. L0182709936
V. AHO No. 21.04-021A, D&O No. 21-18
NEW MEXICO TAXATION AND REVENUE DEPARTMENT

DECISION AND ORDER

On July 15, 2021, Hearing Officer Dee Dee Hoxie, Esq. conducted a videoconference
hearing on the merits of the protest to the assessment. The Taxation and Revenue Department
(Department) was represented by Jama Fisk, Staff Attorney, who appeared by videoconference.
Alma Tapia, Auditor, also appeared by videoconference on behalf of the Department. David
Kovensky and Raya Kovensky (Taxpayers) appeared by telephone and represented themselves.
Mr. Kovensky, Mrs. Kovensky, and Ms. Tapia testified. The Hearing Officer took notice of all
documents in the administrative file. Exhibits #1 (letter); #2 (cancelled checks); #3 (checkbook
registers); “A” (assessment); and “B” (tape mismatch) were admitted'.

The main issue to be decided is whether the Taxpayers are liable for the penalty and
interest. The Taxpayers did not dispute liability for the tax principal. The Hearing Officer
considered all of the evidence and arguments presented by both parties. Because the Taxpayers
failed to overcome the presumption that the assessment is correct, the Hearing Officer finds in
favor of the Department. IT IS DECIDED AND ORDERED AS FOLLOWS:

FINDINGS OF FACT

! Exhibits will be cited as “Ex.” followed by their respective number or letter.
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1. On September 28, 2020, the Department assessed the Taxpayers for personal
income tax, penalty, and interest for the tax periods from January 1, 2014 through December 31,
2015. The assessment was for tax of $3,449.00, penalty of $689.80, and interest of $751.26, for
a total liability of $4,889.82. [Admin. file; Testimony of the Taxpayers; Testimony of Ms.
Tapia; Ex. A].

2. On October 6, 2020, the Taxpayer filed a timely written protest to the assessment.
[Admin. file protest; Testimony of the Taxpayers; Testimony of Ms. Tapia].

3. On November 19, 2020, the Department acknowledged its receipt of the protest.
[Admin. file].

4. On April 27, 2021, the Department filed a request for hearing with the
Administrative Hearings Office. [Admin. file request].

5. On May 21, 2021, a telephonic scheduling hearing was conducted, which was
within 90 days of the request as required by statute. [Admin. file].

6. The Department uses a taxpayer’s federal adjusted gross income to determine
how much personal income tax a taxpayer will owe to New Mexico. [Testimony of Ms. Tapia].
See also NMSA 1978, § 7-2-2 (A) (2014). See also NMSA 1978, § 7-2-3 (1981).

7. The federal government notified the Department that it made corrections to the
Taxpayer’s reported adjusted gross income for the tax years 2014 and 2015. [Testimony of Ms.
Tapia; Ex. B].

8. For 2014, the Taxpayer’s adjusted gross income changed from $44,425.00 to
$72,482.00. For 2015, the Taxpayer’s adjusted gross income changed from $36,988.00 to

$65,578.00. [Testimony of Ms. Tapia; Ex. B].
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9. The Department notified the Taxpayers of the adjustments and requested that the
Taxpayers provide them with additional information on those tax years to determine if the
Taxpayers owed additional New Mexico personal income tax based on the higher federal
adjusted gross income. [Testimony of Ms. Tapia; Testimony of the Taxpayers].

10. The Taxpayers thought that the letter they received from the Department was a
fake and that someone was trying to scam them because of the tax years involved. The
Taxpayers believed that the Department could not audit tax years more than three years past.
[Testimony of the Taxpayers].

11. The Taxpayers did not respond to the Department’s inquiries. [Testimony of the
Taxpayers; Testimony of Ms. Tapial].

12. The Department assessed the Taxpayers for additional personal income tax,
penalty, and interest. [Testimony of Ms. Tapia; Testimony of the Taxpayers; Ex. A].

13. The Taxpayers report and file their taxes using the H&R Block software program.
[Testimony of Taxpayers].

14. The Taxpayers did not keep their records for the 2014 and 2015 tax years.
[Testimony of Taxpayers].

15.  The only records that the Taxpayers were able to produce were to show that some
checks had been written to the Department during those years. [Testimony of Taxpayers; Ex. #1;

Ex. #2; Ex. #3].

DISCUSSION

Burden of proof.

Assessments by the Department are presumed to be correct. See NMSA 1978, § 7-1-17

(2007). By definition, tax includes the amount of tax principal and “the amount of any interest
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or civil penalty relating thereto”. NMSA 1978, § 7-1-3 (Z) (2019). See also El Centro Villa
Nursing Ctr. v. Taxation and Revenue Dep’t, 1989-NMCA-070, 108 N.M. 795. The
presumption of correctness also applies to the assessment of penalty and interest. See 3.1.6.13
NMAC (2001). Therefore, the Taxpayers have the burden to prove that they are entitled to an
abatement, in full or in part, of the assessment issued in the protest. See N.M. Taxation &
Revenue Dep't v. Casias Trucking, 2014-NMCA-099, 8.

Personal income tax.

New Mexico imposes a personal income tax upon the net income of every resident. See
NMSA 1978, § 7-2-3. New Mexico’s adjusted gross income is based on the person’s federal
adjusted gross income. See NMSA 1978, § 7-2-2. The Taxpayers admit that they owed New
Mexico personal income tax for the 2014 and 2015 tax years. The Taxpayers do not know why the
federal government corrected their reported federal adjusted gross income for those years because
they no longer have records of their income or earnings for those years. However, the Taxpayers do
not dispute that they owe additional personal income tax based on the corrected federal adjusted
gross income.

Time limits on assessments.

The Taxpayers argue that the Department’s assessment was made more than three years
after the tax years. The Taxpayers argue that the assessment was not timely. Generally, an
assessment must be made within three years from the end of the calendar year in which payment
of the tax was due. See NMSA 1978, § 7-1-18 (A) (2013). The taxes for the 2014 and 2015 tax
years were due when the returns were required to be filed in 2015 and 2016, respectively. See

NMSA 1978, § 7-2-12 (2016).
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Under the general deadline, the Department had until the end of 2018 and 2019 to assess.
However, the time in which to make an assessment is increased to six years from the end of the
calendar year in which the tax was due if a return is filed for that tax year that understates the tax
due by more than 25 percent. See NMSA 1978, § 7-1-18 (D).

In 2014, the Taxpayers reported New Mexico tax due as $154.00. [Admin. file protest;
Ex. B]. The amount of New Mexico tax due based on the corrected federal adjusted gross
income was $1,998.00. [Ex. B]. Therefore, the amount of tax due was understated on the return
by approximately 83 percent. In 2015, the Taxpayers reported New Mexico tax due as $0.00.
[Admin. file protest; Ex. B]. The amount of New Mexico tax due based on the corrected federal
adjusted gross income was $1,605.00. [Ex. B]. Therefore, the amount of tax due was
understated on the return by 100 percent. Both the 2014 and 2015 tax returns understated the tax
due by more than 25 percent. [Admin. file protest; Ex. B]. Consequently, the Department had
six years to assess, with deadlines in 2021 and 2022, respectively. See NMSA 1978, § 7-1-18.
The assessment was made on September 28, 2020. [Ex. A]. Therefore, the assessment was
timely.

Assessment of penalty.

Penalty “shall be added to the amount assessed”” when a tax is not paid at the time that it
is due, even when the failure to pay is because of negligence rather than an intent to evade the
tax. NMSA 1978, § 7-1-69 (A) (2007) (emphasis added). The word “shall” indicates that the
assessment of penalty is mandatory, not discretionary. See Marbob Energy Corp. v. N.M. Oil
Conservation Comm’n., 2009-NMSC-013, q 22, 146 N.M. 24.

The Taxpayers argue that they were not negligent. The Taxpayers simply did not know

or understand what was going on with their taxes. If a taxpayer is not negligent, penalty may be
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excused. See 3.1.11.11 NMAC (2001) (listing several factors, such as consulting an accountant,
that indicate non-negligence). Negligence includes “inadvertence, indifference, thoughtlessness,
carelessness, erroneous belief or inattention.” 3.1.11.10 NMCA (2001). A taxpayer’s lack of
knowledge or erroneous belief that the taxpayer did not owe the tax is considered to be
negligence for purposes of assessment of penalty. See id. See also Tiffany Const. Co., Inc. v.
Bureau of Revenue, 1976-NMCA-127, 90 N.M. 16.

The Taxpayers failed to prove that they were not negligent. Therefore, the penalty was
properly assessed.

Assessment of interest.

Interest “shall be paid” on taxes that were not paid on or before the date on which they
were due. NMSA 1978, § 7-1-67 (A) (2013). Again, the word “shall” indicates that the
assessment of interest is mandatory. See Marbob Energy Corp., 2009-NMSC-013. The
assessment of interest is not designed to punish taxpayers, but to compensate the state for the
time value of unpaid revenue. Because the tax was not paid when it was due, interest was

properly assessed. Interest will continue to accrue until the tax principal is paid.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW
A. The Taxpayers filed a timely written protest to the Notice of Assessment of personal
income tax issued under Letter ID Number 10182709936, and jurisdiction lies over the parties and
the subject matter of this protest.
B. The first hearing was timely set and held within 90 days of the request for hearing.

See NMSA 1978, § 7-1B-8 (2019).
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C. The Taxpayers owed additional personal income tax to New Mexico when the
federal government corrected the amounts of their federal adjusted gross income. See NMSA 1978,
§ 7-2-2 and § 7-2-3.

D. The assessment was made within the statutory deadlines. See NMSA 1978, § 7-1-
18.

E. The Taxpayers failed to overcome presumption that the assessment was correct. See
NMSA 1978, § 7-1-17.

F. Assessment of penalty and interest was required and appropriate under the statutes.

See NMSA 1978, § 7-1-67 and § 7-1-69.

For the foregoing reasons, the Taxpayer’s protest IS DENIED. IT IS ORDERED that
Taxpayer is liable for tax principal of $3,449.00, penalty of $689.80, and interest of $838.22 for a

total outstanding liability of $4,977.022.

DATED: July 23, 2021.

Yoo Yoo e
Dee Dee Hoxie
Hearing Officer
Administrative Hearings Office
P.O. Box 6400
Santa Fe, NM 87502

NOTICE OF RIGHT TO APPEAL
Pursuant to NMSA 1978, Section 7-1-25 (2015), the parties have the right to appeal this
decision by filing a notice of appeal with the New Mexico Court of Appeals within 30 days of the

date shown above. If an appeal is not timely filed with the Court of Appeals within 30 days, this

2 Ms. Tapia provided the current total, which reflects the continued accrual of interest. Ms. Tapia advised that this
total is valid through July 29, 2021.
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Decision and Order will become final. Rule of Appellate Procedure 12-601 NMRA articulates
the requirements of perfecting an appeal of an administrative decision with the Court of Appeals.
Either party filing an appeal shall file a courtesy copy of the appeal with the Administrative
Hearings Office contemporaneous with the Court of Appeals filing so that the Administrative
Hearings Office may begin preparing the record proper. The parties will each be provided with a
copy of the record proper at the time of the filing of the record proper with the Court of Appeals,
which occurs within 14 days of the Administrative Hearings Office receipt of the docketing

statement from the appealing party. See Rule 12-209 NMRA.

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE
On July 23, 2021, a copy of the foregoing Decision and Order was submitted to the parties

listed below in the following manner:

First Class Mail and Email Email
INTENTIONALLY BLANK
John Griego
Legal Assistant
Administrative Hearings Office
P.O. Box 6400

Santa Fe, NM 87502
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