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BEFORE THE HEARING OFFICER 

OF THE TAXATION AND REVENUE DEPARTMENT 

OF THE STATE OF NEW MEXICO 

 

 

IN THE MATTER OF THE PROTEST OF    No. 10-13 

GEA INTEGRATED COOLING TECHNOLOGY 

NM CRS ID. NO. 02-330522-003 

PROTEST TO ASSESSMENT ISSUED  

UNDER LETTER ID. NO. 1178774912 

 

 

DECISION AND ORDER 

 

 This matter came on for determination before Gerald B. Richardson, Hearing 

Officer, upon a Joint Stipulation of Facts, and the briefs of the parties, and the matter was 

considered submitted for determination upon the filing of the briefs on Sept. 21, 2010.  

The Taxation and Revenue Department ("Department") was represented by Peter Breen, 

Special Assistant Attorney General.  GEA Integrated Cooling Technology ("Taxpayer") 

was represented by Adam W. Chase, Esq.   Based upon the stipulated facts and the 

arguments presented, IT IS DECIDED AND ORDERED AS FOLLOWS: 

 
FINDINGS OF FACT 

 

 1. Taxpayer is a Colorado based company that builds and renovates cooling 

towers for power plants.   

 2. During the audit period, June 30, 2003 to May 31, 2008, the Taxpayer was 

engaged to work on projects by Public Service Company of New Mexico at sites in New 

Mexico.  The work was turnkey engineering, design and building of air cooling towers 

for power plants.  The materials used were manufactured to the Taxpayer's specifications 

by out-of-state manufacturers and then delivered to the New Mexico work site for 

incorporation into the construction project. 

 3. The Department began an audit of the taxpayer on July 16, 2008 for tax 

periods beginning June 30, 2003 and ending on May 31, 2008.  After the audit started, 

GEA reported $519,622.42 in gross receipts taxes and submitted payment of that amount 

on August 22, 2008. 
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 4. On September 21, 2009, the Department issued as assessment to the 

Taxpayer for the audit period in the amount of $841,792.93, representing $587,068.34 in 

gross receipts tax, $117,413.66 penalty and $137,310.93 interest.   

 5. After allowing offsets in the amount of $35,989.37, the Department 

ultimately determined that Taxpayer still owed $31,456.55 in tax principal.  Taxpayer 

paid that tax principal on January 6, 2010. 

 6. The Department determined the amount of penalty as follows.  The 

Taxpayer had accrued $490,802.60 in tax liabilities over various tax periods between 

June 1, 2006 and July 1, 2007.  The applicable 10% limit on the accrual of penalty at 2% 

per month on that unpaid tax had been reached before January 1, 2008 for all tax owed 

during that period.  On January 1, 2008, the amendment to Section 7-1-69(A) NMSA 

1978 became effective, raising the limit on the accrual of penalty from 10% to 20%.  

After that effective date, the Department resumed adding penalty in the amount of 2% per 

month for five months until the new maximum of 20% was reached on the unpaid tax 

liabilities accrued during periods prior to January 1, 2008. 

 7. After the effective date of the amendment to Section 7-1-69(A) NMSA 

1978, increasing the maximum penalty to 20%, the Taxpayer accrued additional gross 

receipts tax liabilities in the amounts of $23,703.64 in February 2008, $2,182.13 in 

March 2008 and $34,387.60 in April 2008.  The Taxpayer and the department agree that 

the 20% limitation on penalty applied to the unpaid portion of the post-January 1, 2008 

tax liability. 

 8. The Department assessed interest at 15% simple interest rate on the 

principal amount of the tax due up through January 1, 2008.  For the period after January 

1, 2008, the Department assessed interest at the lower interest rate on the unpaid balance 

of tax owed as set pursuant to the amendment to the statute imposing interest on unpaid 

tax liabilities, Section 7-1-67 NMSA 1978, as amended in Laws 2007, ch. 45, § 2. 

 9. The sole issue for determination in this protest is whether the Department 

correctly applied the increase in the maximum penalty limitation from 10% to 20% 

pursuant to Section 7-1-69(A)(1) and (2) NMSA 1978, as amended  by Laws 2007, ch. 

45, § 4, to the Taxpayer's tax liabilities accrued prior to January 1, 2008 but not paid until 

after that date.  All other issued raised in the Taxpayer's protest have been withdrawn.   
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DISCUSSION 

 The only issue remaining to be determined in this matter is whether the 

Department properly assessed penalty at the maximum rate of 20% of the underlying 

gross receipts tax liability assessed against the Taxpayer for reporting periods between 

June 1, 2006 and July 1, 2007.  This question arises because Section 7-1-69(A) NMSA 

1978, the statutory provision governing the imposition of penalty when tax is not paid 

when due, was amended by Laws 2007, ch. 45, § 4, to raise the maximum penalty which 

can be imposed from 10% of the unpaid tax to 20% of the unpaid tax.  The amendment 

became effective on January 1, 2008.  Laws 2007, ch. 45, § 16.    

 Essentially, the Taxpayer argues that because the tax periods for which tax was 

not paid when due occurred prior to the effective date of the statutory amendments 

raising the maximum amount of penalty which could be imposed, that the prior version of 

the statute, which limited penalty to a maximum of 10% should apply.  Taxpayer argues 

that to apply the later version of the statute would amount to giving the amended statute 

retroactive effect.  Both parties agree that statutes are presumed to operate prospectively 

only, unless an intention on the part of the legislature is clearly apparent to give them 

retroactive effect.  See, State v. Padilla, 78 N.M. 702, 703, 437 P.2d 163, 164 (Ct. App. 

1968).  The Department does not argue that there is anything in the legislative record to 

indicate that the statutory amendment was intended to operate retroactively.  Rather, it 

argues that it is not applying the amended statute retroactively.  It is simply applying the 

version of the statute which is applicable under the circumstances.   

 Section 7-1-69(A) NMSA 1978 is the statute governing the imposition of penalty 

in this matter.  I will set forth, in pertinent part, the language as amended by Laws 2007, 

ch. 45, § 4, which was identical to the language of the prior version, save the increase in 

the maximum amount of penalty to 20% from the prior maximum of 10%. 

A. Except as provided in Subsection C of this section, in the case of 
failure due to negligence or disregard of department rules and regulations, 
but without intent to evade or defeat a tax, to pay when due the amount of 
tax required to be paid, ...or to file by the date required a return regardless 
of whether a tax is due, there shall be added to the amount assessed a 
penalty in an amount equal to the greater of: 
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 (1)  two percent per month or any fraction of a month from the date 
when the tax was due multiplied by the amount of tax due but not paid, not 
to exceed twenty percent of the tax due but not paid; 
 (2)  two percent per month or any fraction of a month from the date 
the return was required to be filed multiplied by the tax liability 
established in the late return, not to exceed twenty percent of the tax 
liability established in the late return; .... 

 

 The Taxpayer has cited to this Hearing Officer two prior decisions, made by other 

hearing officers at the Department, in which the issue of which version of Section 7-1-69 

applied, and thus which maximum rate of penalty was applicable, was determined 

adversely to the Department's position in those cases and in this one.  In both cases 

decided, the tax periods for which tax was due but unpaid occurred prior to the effective 

date of the amendment to Section 7-1-69, but the taxes were assessed after the effective 

date of that amendment.  In both cases, the Department assessed penalty under the 

amended statute, imposing a maximum penalty of 20% of the unpaid tax.   

 In the first of those decisions, In the Matter of the Protest of Alamo True Value 

Home Center, No. 09-02, July 2, 2009, the Hearing Officer stated,  

The rule on penalty, whether under the old or amended statute, is only 

applied at the time the tax is due but not paid.  According to the plain 
language of the § 7-1-69 NMSA, it appears that it is not relevant when the 

Taxpayer was assessed, but only when the tax was due and not paid.  In 
the absence of clear language in the statute specifying retroactivity (which 
does not exist in this instance), the pertinent inquiry to determine the 

maximum percentage of penalty under either the old or amended version 

of NMSA 1978, Section 7-1-69 (2008) is not the date of assessment but the 

date when the principle tax was due but not paid.  If that date was before 
January 1, 2008, then the Taxpayer is only subject to a maximum penalty 
up to 10%, but if that date is on or after January 1, 2008, then the 
Taxpayer is subject to a maximum penalty up to 20%.  (Emphasis added). 
 

 Similarly, in In the Matter of the Protest of Maria and Robert Cloutier, No. 09-

05, October 28, 2009, the Hearing Officer struck down the Department's attempt to 

impose the maximum 20% penalty on taxes which were due but unpaid.  The Hearing 

Officer ruled that the amended statute was not applicable, "because it was not effective 

until January 1, 2008, well after the due date of gross receipts tax being due", and there 

was no retroactivity provision in the amended statute making it applicable in instances 

where the maximum 10% penalty had already been reached.   
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 While the circumstances of the above cited protests are indistinguishable from 

those in this case, in terms of the taxes being due and unpaid when the earlier version of 

the penalty statute was in effect, yet the penalty was assessed after the effective date of 

the amended penalty statute, this decision maker is not persuaded that those decisions 

were correctly decided.  In the best circumstances, it would be preferable if the 

Department's hearing officers made consistent determinations as to applicable law.  I 

believe that it is my role, however, as decision-maker, to make my own determination of 

how the law should be applied under the circumstances of matters that come before me.  

When I believe that an error in applying the law has been made, it is my responsibility to 

apply it correctly in matters assigned to me.  In this instance, I believe that the decisions 

above are in error with respect to their determination as to when and how, rather than 

whether, penalty is to be applied with respect to unpaid taxes.   

 I agree that both versions of Section 7-1-69(A) look to whether a taxpayer has 

been negligent or in disregard of department rules and regulations in failing "to pay when 

due the amount of tax required to be paid" in determining whether penalty should be 

applied.  Both decisions, however, disregard the clear language in Section 7-1-69(A), 

found in both the amended and prior versions of  that provision, as to when and how 

penalty is actually imposed on a taxpayer.  When and how penalty is imposed is 

addressed by the language of the statute which follows the language about whether a 

taxpayer was negligent in failure to pay tax when due.  This language provides that where 

there has been a failure to pay tax due to negligence or disregard of department rules and 

regulations, "there shall be added to the amount assessed a penalty...."  (Emphasis 

added).  Thus, penalty is imposed only when there has been an amount of unpaid tax 

which has already been assessed.  Section 7-1-17(B) NMSA 1978 informs as to when 

there has been an assessment of taxes.  "Tax" is defined to include "the amount of any 

interest or civil penalty relating thereto", unless the context of the law requires otherwise.  

Section 7-1-3 (X) NMSA 1978.  Section 7-1-17 (B) provides: 

B. Assessments of tax are effective: 
 (1)  when a return of a taxpayer is received by the department 
showing a liability for taxes; 
 (2)  when a document denominated "notice of assessment of 
taxes", issued in the name of the secretary, is mailed or delivered in person 
to the taxpayer against whom the liability for tax is asserted, stating the 
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nature and amount of the taxes assertedly owed by the taxpayer to the 
state, demanding of the taxpayer the immediate payment of the taxes and 
briefly informing the taxpayer of the remedies available to the taxpayer; or 
 (3)  when an effective jeopardy assessment is made as provided in 
the Tax Administration Act. 
 

Thus, the only way that penalty is actually imposed upon a taxpayer is when either the 

taxpayer itself has filed a return showing a liability for taxes and the taxpayer fails to pay 

that liability (a self assessment of taxes) or when the Department issues an assessment of 

penalty as part of a "notice of assessment of taxes" or a jeopardy assessment.   This 

makes perfect sense.  This is because under both the previous statute and the amended 

Section 7-1-69(A), the calculation of the amount of penalty to be imposed is calculated as 

a percentage of the amount of tax which was not paid at the time the tax was due, 

multiplied by 2% per month for a maximum of five months under the prior statute or a 

maximum of ten months under the amended law, depending upon when the unpaid taxes 

are actually paid.   Unless there has been an assessment of tax by the Department or a self 

assessment by a taxpayer, there is no way of knowing what the amount of unpaid tax is 

for purposes of calculating how much penalty is to be imposed.  Thus, it is clear that 

penalty is not imposed at the time the taxes were due but unpaid.  It is only imposed at 

the time that the amount of unpaid taxes has been determined.  In this case and in the two 

decisions decided by the other hearing officers, that time occurred after the effective date 

of the statutory amendment.  Because the two administrative decisions relied upon by the 

Taxpayer disregard the plain language of Section 7-1-69 as to when and how penalty is 

calculated and imposed, I believe that they are erroneous in their conclusion that the date 

of assessment is irrelevant to determining which version of Section 7-1-69(A) should be 

applied when taxes which are due have not been paid.  

 In this case, there is nothing to indicate that the Taxpayer filed a return showing a 

liability for the taxes which were assessed in this matter prior to the commencement of 

the Department's audit.  If the Taxpayer had done so, and had done so prior to January 1, 

2008, the applicable penalty would have maximized at 10% of the unpaid taxes.  The 

taxes were assessed as a result of an audit by the Department, which was commenced on 

July 16, 2008, and the assessment was issued on September 21, 2009, well after the 

effective date of the amendments to Section 7-1-69(A) NMSA 1978.    Although the 
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Taxpayer may have filed returns self assessing the same taxes assessed by the 

Department assessment when it reported $519,622.42 in gross receipts taxes and 

submitted payment of that amount, that occurred on August 22, 2008, also well after the 

effective date of the amendments to Section 7-1-69(A) NMSA 1978.  Thus, the amended 

version of Section 7-1-69(A) applies.  Since the amended version was not applied to 

determine the amount of penalty assessed and contested in this matter until well after the 

effective date of the amended statute, it has not been applied retroactively, and the 

maximum applicable penalty would be 20% in this matter.   

 This conclusion that the amended version of Section 7-1-69(A) was not 

retroactively applied is also supported by a review of New Mexico case law.  In Bradbury 

& Stamm Construction Co. V. Bureau of Revenue, 70 N.M. 226, 372 P.2d 808 (1962), 

the Court was called upon to determine the interest rate to be applied to a claim for 

refund of overpaid tax, where the overpayment occurred prior to a change of the statute 

specifying the amount of interest to be paid by the state on refunded taxes.  In that case, 

the statutory amendment lowered the amount of interest which was payable.  The Bureau 

of Revenue paid interest at the higher rate until the effective date of the statutory 

amendment and at the lower rate thereafter.  In that case, the taxpayer contested the 

application of the lower rate for periods after the statute was amended, arguing that 

because the amount of tax due was based on circumstances occurring before the statutory 

amendment, the higher rate of interest should apply to the refunded taxes for all periods 

until the taxes were refunded.  In ruling against the taxpayer, the Court relied on the 

general rule applicable to statutory interest on tax refunds that where there has been a 

change of law changing the statutory rate after the cause of action accrues, the interest 

should be allowed at the old rate before the amendment takes effect and the new rate after 

the effective date.  Following this rule, the Court found that applying the new rate only 

after its effective date would not be giving the statutory amendment a retroactive effect.  

Similarly, in this case, the new penalty maximum was only applied after the effective 

date of the statutory change, and it was not applied retroactively.   

 Howell v. Heim, 118 N.M. 500, 882 P.2d 541 (1994) involved the application of a 

new regulation rather than an amended statute.  In that case, because of a shortage of 

funding, the state promulgated a new regulation which limited the duration of state 
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funded general assistance disability benefits to twelve months, where previously there 

had been no limit on their duration.  The plaintiffs argued that in applying this regulation, 

the state agency had taken into account months of disability benefits granted before the 

regulation's enactment in making its determination as to when twelve months of benefits 

had been granted, requiring the cessation of benefits.  The Plaintiffs argued, that by doing 

so, the state was giving retroactive effect to the regulation in contravention of due 

process.  The trial court agreed with the plaintiffs and the state appealed from that ruling.  

In overruling the trial court, the Court stated that: 

A statute or regulation is considered retroactive if it impairs vested rights 
acquired under prior law or requires new obligations, imposes new duties 
or affixes new disabilities to past transactions. Albuquerque v. State ex rel. 

Village of Los Ranchos de Albuquerque, 111 N.M. 608,616, 808 P.2d 58, 
66 (Ct.App. 1991), Cert. denied, 113 N.M. 524, 828 P.2d 957 (1992).  
"However, a statute does not operate retroactively merely because some of 
the facts or conditions which are relied upon existed prior to the 
enactment."  Id. 
 

Id. at 506, 882 P.2d at 547.  Thus, the Court concluded that there was no retroactive 

application of the regulation, even though it took into account periods of time prior to its 

promulgation.  Similarly, in this case, even though the Department considers the facts 

and circumstances surrounding the Taxpayer's nonpayment of taxes in determining 

whether the imposition of penalty is proper, the amended percentage rate was only 

applied when the penalty was assessed, which occurred after the effective date of the 

statutory amendment.   

 

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW 

 1. The Taxpayer filed a timely written protest to the assessment issued under 

letter ID. No. 1178774912 and therefore jurisdiction exists over the parties and the 

subject matter of this protest. 

 2. Section 7-1-69(A)(1) and (2) NMSA 1978, as amended by Laws 2007, 

ch. 45, § 4 applies to the calculation of the amount of penalty in this matter because the 

penalty was assessed subsequent to the effective date of that amendment. 
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 3. There has been no retroactive application of Section 7-1-69(A)(1) and (2) 

NMSA 1978, as amended by Laws 2007, ch. 45, § 4 to the Taxpayer under the 

circumstances of this case.   

 

FOR THE FOREGOING REASONS, THE TAXPAYER'S PROTEST IS HEREBY 

DENIED.   

 

Dated:_______________________ 

 

       

 

 

  

 
 
 

 

  

  

    

 

  
 


