
Bill Richardson 
 

 DIVISIONS 
 Office of the Secretary 
 (505) 827-0341 
Administrative Services 

 (505) 827-0369 
Audit and Compliance 

 (505) 827-0900 
 Motor Transportation 
 (505) 827-0320 
 Motor Vehicle 
 (505) 827-2294 
 Property Tax 
 (505) 827-0870 
 Revenue Processing 
 (505)  827-0800 

 

 STATE OF NEW MEXICO 
 Taxation and Revenue Department 
  An Equal Opportunity Employer 

      Governor 
      Jan Goodwin 
     Secretary 

New Mexico to Issue 
 Tax Identification Permit for Commercial Vehicles 

 
June 10, 2004                                                               For media questions contact Kathleen Baca  

                                                                                                                         (505) 827-0313                                                                                                   

 Santa Fe - Effective July 1, 2004 New Mexico will be charging an 
administrative fee of $2 for the New Mexico Tax Identification Permit.  Motor 
Carriers will be required to purchase a permit for each Commercial Vehicle 
weighing 26,001 pounds and over, gross vehicle weight.  Each Motor Carrier is 
responsible for inserting their unit and vehicle identification number information 
on each permit.  
 

The renewal applications for these new permits will be mailed out to existing 
permit holders on July 1, 2004 and must be returned by August 15, 2004. Motor 
Carriers must have the permit in their vehicles by January 1, 2005. New accounts 
can request applications by calling the Commercial Vehicle Bureau at: (505) 827-
0392, or by visiting our website at:  
:http://www.state.nm.us/tax/forms/comveh/comveh.htm.  
    
Motor Carriers must present the Tax ID Permits at the Port of Entry or to any law 
enforcement official upon request.  Failure to obtain a Tax ID permit or to carry 
the permit will subject Motor Carriers to the New Mexico Trip tax, which is 
charged based on the weight and miles the vehicle will be traveling in New 
Mexico.  The Trip tax varies from .05 cents to .12 cents per mile based on the 
weight of the vehicle, plus a $5.00 trip permit fee. 
  

                                      Trip Tax schedule 
 

               Vehicle weight                           Cents per mile 
                      0 - 26, 000 lbs                             05 
                 26, 001-54,000 lbs 09 
                 54,001 - 72,000lbs 11 

             72,001 lbs & over 12 
 

Why should motor carrier apply for a Tax ID?  The mill rates charged for weight 
distance tax - which is filed quarterly - is much lower than the Trip Tax.  
 
 For example, a vehicle weighing 80,000 lbs (two-way hauler) with a Tax ID 
permit would be required to pay 4.378 cents for each mile traveled in New 
Mexico. A vehicle without a permit will have to pay trip tax of 12 cents per mile 
at the Port of entry.  For a New Mexico trip of 100 miles the savings would be 
$7.62 ($12 dollars versus $4.38.)  
 

For questions regarding Tax ID please call  (505) 827-0392 
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