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          STATE CREDITS “DRIVE INSURED” PROGRAM WITH LOWERING 
                               NUMBER OF UNINSURED VEHICLES 
 
  Officials dispute recent report by the Industry Research Council, an insurance 
                                     industry trade group. 
 
 
SANTA FE -- State officials dispute a new study that places New Mexico with the 
highest rate of uninsured drivers in the country. The study, released recently by the 
Insurance Research Council, suggested that 29 percent of New Mexico’s driver’s are 
uninsured. Ken Ortiz, director of the state’s Motor Vehicle Division, says the state 
tracks uninsured vehicles, and that rate is 9.7 percent.  
 
Ortiz in 2003 set up the state’s mandatory “Drive Insured” program as a result of 
the New Mexico Mandatory Financial Responsibility Act. The program has been 
credited with reducing the state’s uninsured drivers through its ongoing monitoring 
and enforcement. The state contracts with a private company to maintain a  
complete list of registered vehicles to a database, updated monthly, from every 
insurance company doing business in New Mexico. Since there is no reliable 
estimate of unregistered vehicles, these are not included in the statistic. “Our 
number, 9.7 percent, is the actual percentage of registered vehicles that are 
uninsured,” said Ortiz. “While it’s not perfect, it’s the most precise and accurate way 
to gauge the number of uninsured vehicles in New Mexico.” 
 
The Insurance Research Council, meanwhile, said in its press release that it 
measures the uninsured driver population by “using a ratio of insurance claims 
made by individuals who were injured by uninsured drivers to claims made by 
individuals who were injured by insured drivers.” The Council said it uses data from 
nine insurance companies “representing 50 percent of the private passenger auto 
insurance market in the United States” compared to the 600 insurance companies 
that report to the New Mexico MVD.  
 
New Mexico Superintendent of Insurance Morris Chavez remarked: “In my opinion, 
the numbers released by the IRC appear misleading and do not reflect the data 
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looked at by the Insurance Division. We have worked closely with MVD and believe 
that the true percentages of uninsured vehicles exists very close to the numbers 
tracked by MVD.” 
 
A report from the American Association of Motor Vehicle Administrators regarding 
how to measure the rate of uninsured motor vehicles, said measuring crash 
statistics “may not be quite as accurate as the database method…” which is used by 
New Mexico. Other reports state that uninsured drivers are many times more likely 
to be involved in an accident which could further skew the Insurance Research 
Council statistics. In other words, the Insurance Research Council reporting an 
uninsured rate in New Mexico that is three times the actual rate could simply reflect 
uninsured drivers being three times more likely to be involved in an accident than 
insured motorists. 
 
Other states that track uninsured drivers through electronic databases are reporting 
lower numbers of uninsured vehicles than the industry report, Ortiz said.  
For example, in Illinois the Industry Research Council calculated an uninsured 
vehicle rate of 15%, while the Illinois Mandatory Insurance Division says that in 
reality only 4.8% of vehicles there lack insurance. In addition, Utah reports 4% 
uninsured vehicles, but the report puts uninsured motorists at 8%. Colorado reports 
10% uninsured vehicles, but the report puts uninsured motorists at 15%. And 
California reports 14% uninsured vehicles, but the report puts the uninsured 
motorists at 18%.  
 
The State of New Mexico implemented its “Drive Insured” program in 2003. 
The program identifies vehicle owners who don’t have insurance, notifies them by 
letter, and then suspends registration for those vehicle owners who fail to purchase 
insurance. MVD records show that 398,000 vehicles, 25.5% of the registered 
vehicles, were uninsured in 2003. Because of the “Drive Insured” program, that 
percentage dropped to 16.6% in 2004, 14.4% in 2005, 13.4% in 2006, 11.6% in 
2007, 10.2% in 2008, and 9.7% in 2009. Ortiz said the MVD suspends about 
112,000 registrations each year – and about 17,000 vehicle owners in 2008 paid 
the $25 required by law to reinstate the registration. 
 
The Governor is supporting legislation this year, HB29 sponsored by Representative 
Bill Rehm (R-Bernalillo), to increase the reinstatement penalty to $100 as an effort 
to crack down even further on uninsured drivers. 
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