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NEW MEXICO PERSONAL INCOME TAX
ESTIMATED PAYMENT INFORMATION

The first installment of estimated payments for the 2008 New Mexico personal income tax year is
due in April of this year. These payments must be postmarked by April 15, 2008 in order to
be considered timely. Though the Department will not impose penalties for underpaying
estimated payments for tax year 2007, the Department will impose penalties for
underpayment of estimated payments for tax year 2008.

Every person required to file a New Mexico personal income tax return must pay estimated tax
on income as it is received throughout the year by means of New Mexico withholding tax or
estimated tax payments. A taxpayer who does not make sufficient payments may receive an
assessment of penalty for underpayment of New Mexico personal income tax, even if the full tax
amount owed is paid with the annual return by April 15", 2009. Late or underpaid estimated
payments are subject to penalty calculated using the quarterly interest rate in effect for each
quarter that an estimated payment is underpaid or paid late up until April 15™, 2009.

To avoid penalty for underpayment of estimated income tax upon filing next year’s tax return, a
taxpayer may increase the amount of withholding from wages or pension payments or make four
equal estimated payments by the due dates of April 15, June 16, September 15 of 2008 and
January 15, 2009. Penalty will not be imposed for tax year 2008 if a taxpayer uses
withholding tax or estimated payments to pay either 100 percent of their tax due for the 2007
tax year or 90 percent of their tax due for the 2008 tax year, whichever amount is less.

Additional information, including publication FYI-320 “PIT-ES: Personal Income Tax Estimated
Payments”, is available on the Taxation and Revenue Department’'s website at
www.tax.state.nm.us or from a local Taxation and Revenue Department district office.




