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|IMPORTANT CUSTOMER INFORMATION

Many New Mexico drivers have received “guilty deferred” sentences for traffic violations. A “deferred”
sentence is one for which drivers must satisfy conditions as established by a court — such as attendance
at driving school, community service, a90-day probation period during which the driver must maintain a
clean record, etc. Upon compliance with court conditions, the citation is dismissed.

The Motor Vehicle Divison (MVD) has determined that in some cases “ deferred” sentences for which
the driver has complied with al court conditions have been posted to some drivers records. Our god
isto ensure accuracy on al driver records so that citations and convictions are accurately reflected in
our database. Through a recent agreement with the Adminigtrative Office of the Courts (AOC), MVD
has agreed to remove those citations for which the driver has complied with al court conditions and the
court has dismissed it.

The MVD isworking with the courts to fix the problem going forward. In the meantime, here s what
you can do to determine if you have been affected...

Doesthis affect me?
NO, if:

1. Youpad acourt fine.
Y ou were found guilty by a Court.
Y ou were found not guilty by a Court.
Y our deferral was issued prior to October 14, 2005.
Y our gppeared in Metro Court (in Berndillo County)
Your citation is part of the Albuquerque “red light” program.
Y our violation and sentence was a DWI, driving on arevoked or suspended license, driving with
an open container, failure to appear or to pay a penalty assessment, three convictions of reckless
driving within a 12-month period, amotor vehicle violation resulting in bodily injury or deeth,
shoating at or from amotor vehicle, conviction of afdony involving amotor vehicle, failure to sop
and render ad in the event of a crash involving bodily injury or death, and perjury, false affidavit
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or statement to the Motor Vehicle Divison rdating to the ownership or operation of motor
vehides.

8. YouaeaCDL driver. By federd regulation, any conviction (including “guilty,” “nolo
contendere’ and “guilty deferred”) must be posted to your driving record and should stay there.

YES, if you have received a“ deferred” sentence on atraffic violation from a magistrate or municipa
court in New Mexico during the last three years for a violation such as speeding, not wearing a seatbdlt,
falure to maintain lane or yidd, reckless driving or other moving violaions.

If you think this affects you, we encour age you to contact MVD; here’show:
Send an emall to mailto:Adam.Diamond@state.nm.us
Type " Guilty Deferred” in the subject line and provide your:
Full name;
Driver’s license number;
Date of hirth; and
Telephone number.

Our gaff will research your case and respond to you within 48 hours,

2. Check your driving record through our automated phone system by caling our toll-free
number: 1-888-683-4636 (1-888-MVD-INFO). Follow the voice promptsto get your “driving
record.” Be sure to select the 3-year driving record option.

3. Cdl our toll-free number: 1-888-683-4636 (1-888-MVD-INFO) to talk with aclerk. Be
prepared to provide your:

Full name;

Driver’ slicense number;
Date of birth;

Teephone number; and
Email address (optiond).

If your record indicates a sentence for atraffic violation within the last three years, and you
think it was “ deferred” by the court, then we will research your record and respond to you
within 48 hours. We will need to verify the sentence was “deferred” and that you have
complied with the court requirement(s). Most of this research can be done on-line by our
saff, but in some cases (such as a condition to attend driving school) we may ask you to
contact the court to get proof of compliance and dismissal.

If you'vereceived a “qguilty deferred” conviction on your driving record for which you've
complied with all conditionsand it has been dismissed by the court, here swhat you’ll need to
do:
1. Contact the court that gave you the “guilty deferred” sentence to get documentation that you
have complied and the citation has been dismissed.



2. Submit proof of the dismissal to MVD by:
a. Mailing the origind certified court document to MVD &:

New Mexico Motor Vehicle Divison
ATTN: Adam Diamond

P.O. Box 1028

Santa Fe, New Mexico 87504

OR
b. The court can:

Fax the compliance document to 505-827-2783 or 505-827-2267.
Email the compliance document to mailto:Adam.Diamond@state.nm.us

What isbeing done to fix the problem?
1. Rick Homans, Secretary of the Taxation and Revenue Department, has formed a
“Guilty/Deferred Task Force” that includes MV D and the courts. The Task Force is tasked
with proposing a statewide solution to the problem by December 2008.
2. The MVD has sent aletter to dl courtsin New Mexico and to dl MVD field officesto
inform them of the problem and to advise them where to send drivers — to the toll-free
number and TRD website— who inquire about their own driving records.



