The statute governing handling of unclaimed property in New Mexico is the Uniform Unclaimed Property Act, (Sections 7-8A-1 through 7-8A-31 NMSA 1978).

In New Mexico, holders of unclaimed properties have responsibilities that include:

  • Providing your federal tax identification number, address, and contact information;retaining records;
  • Attempting to contact the property owner;
  • Avoid combining supplemental reports with previously reported accounts;
  • When using computer listings instead of the approved reporting forms, the lists must be in the same format as the forms, containing all required columns and fields; and
  • Filing electronically using NAUPA II format, whenever possible. All reports containing more than 25 properties must be submitted in electronic format.

To obtain software, go to www.wagers.net and download Pro-Reporting Software. Send the file on a compact disk or a 3.5 inch diskette.

You may:

  • photocopy reporting forms, if you need additional forms,
  • and report individual owner accounts of less than $50 as aggregate.

If you wish to avoid our contacting you each time an owner files a claim for under $50, you may want to list each individual separately.Please review RPD-41200, Unclaimed Property Report, Holder’s Filing Kit for specific unclaimed property holder responsibilities.

View Our Most Popular Pages & Services
Latest News:
Governor Susana Martinez

Governor Susana Martinez

Learn more about governor Martinez
Secretary Demesia Padilla

Secretary Demesia Padilla,CPA

Learn more about secretary Padilla

Online Services

Find an Online Service to Serve Your Needs

Taxation and Revenue New Mexico

1100 South St. Francis Drive
Santa Fe, NM 87504
(505) 827-0700

TRD Home          Privacy & Security          Site Policies          Accessibility/Non-Discrimination Statement          
About Us          Contact Us      Site MapLink to New Mexico Tax and Revenue Facebook Page

call us E-Mail Contact Us